Blogging 101: How to Build-Up A Blog and Create Your Brand!

 

Blogging 101 How to Build Blog Create Brand The HWL

 

When I first began blogging, I had no idea just how much there was to learn about the process.  In high school, I had a LiveJournal – which is one of the most basic types of blogs out there, as it’s basically just an online diary like the name suggests.  And that’s essentially what I used it for – the random musings and anxious rants of a teenage girl.

These days it can actually be kind of fun (and nostalgic) to go through the old entries and the comments written by once-close friends (most of whom I no longer even really speak to, not for any other reason than we’ve grown apart over the years). It’s also easy to see the ways in which that first journal became a basis for what would become, nearly 10 years later, the jumping off point for my writing career.  It’s kind of cool, in fact, to see the subtle influences that I probably wouldn’t even believe were there if I didn’t discover them for myself.

But there is also a definite lack of sophistication? – partially because I wasn’t really writing for anyone other than myself, even if I knew a select number of my friends would also be able to read it, so I just let it all tumble out, fractured, and didn’t bother to go over it again to really make it “pretty”.  And partially because I was in a fractured and anxious state during most of high school, and the messy writing matched the confusion that was my mental and emotional state at the time.

First LiveJournal Entry The HWL

My first LiveJournal entry, written in between Sophomore and Junior years – I was 15.


 

Maybe some day I’ll share a few of the old things I’ve written with you all!  You know, the well-written bits.

Anyways, the point is, I’m really excited to share what I’ve learned about blogging with you all – from the technical logistics to the more creative aspects – as well as everything else that I learn as I continue down this crazy fun path…even if it’s not always in the timeliest of manners…ahem!  (I’m not about to even pretend that these will be regular posts, because every time I try at that I fail miserably.  I guess you could say I’m an “emotional” writer, and always have been, so unless a post fits my mood, even if it’s the topic I planned on going with, I just can’t get into it!  So many people in the blogging world talk about what a “bad” habit this is, and maybe it’s true, but call me a creative type – I’m too finicky and moody to care and I’m going to do what feels right, darn it!)

SO: Be sure to keep an eye out for the “Blogging 101” headline popping up in your reader/blog feed – or go at your own pace via the new “Blogging 101” tab coming soon to the navigation bar at the top of the page!  You can even keep up with all the news on Twitter by following me at @HandWrittenLife and using the hashtag #Blogging101!

 

*      *      *

 

Is there part of the blogging world you haven’t quite figured out yet?  Submit your question here, and if I can help, I will do my best to create a post to answer it!

 

If you’ve got a few blogging tips and tricks up your sleeve yourself, and would like to write a “how-to” post to be featured as part of the Blogging 101 series, Click Here to submit your idea today!

 
 
 

RELATED ARTICLES

Why You Should Have A Blog Disclaimer Page The HWL

Why You Should Have A Disclaimer Page

Confidential Let's Get Personal The HWL

Let’s Get Personal

Photoshop Watermark Photos How To The HWL

Photoshop Fun – Why You Should Watermark Your Photos

One thought on “Blogging 101: How to Build-Up A Blog and Create Your Brand!

Leave a Reply

