What A Difference A Year Makes

“I’ve been spending the last 8 months,
Thinking all love ever does,
Is break, and burn, and end,
But on a [Sunday] in a cafe, I watched it begin again…”

Begin Again – Taylor Swift

Not to be overly cheesy or anything, (they say if a girl posts Taylor Swift lyrics about you you’re either doing something very right or horribly wrong…) but this is exactly how I was feeling a year ago today, as I walked into the local restaurant on campus to meet Captain America for our very first date – and my very first first date!

Little did I know that my world was about to change completely, or that I would be sharing the first of many meals and conversations with the man I was going to marry. To think I initially turned him down! (My health wasn’t great at the time and I was concerned I wouldn’t have enough energy to devote to a relationships…good thing I changed my mind before it was too late!

Our late breakfast turned into lingered conversation over french fries at a nearby sports bar, which was followed by purchasing tickets to a movie (Gangster Squad – action for him, Ryan Gosling for me, obviously this guy is a keeper) and drinks at the Red Robin next to the mall where we killed time until it started. When he drove me back to my car and dropped me off, there was no kiss – he told me later he respected me to kiss me on the first date – but when I got home, “You’re pretty amazing” popped up on my phone…*swoon*

It didn’t take long for is to realize we were good together, and pretty soon our relationship fell into step, easily and comfortably, as though we had been together all along! Indeed, I sometimes have to stop and remind myself that it has only been a year, instead of the two or three that it often seems.

Putting yourself out there, being open to love, and committing yourself to another – these are not the easiest things to do in life, but they are easily the most fulfilling. Our road, just like the road of most couples, has had it’s ups and downs, and will continue to be filled with them as long as we remain the beautifully imperfect people that we are (so, forever!) – but I wouldn’t have it any other way, and no matter what life throws our way, I know we can make it through as long as we have each other!

20140113-131911.jpg

Happy One Year Anniversary, Captain America!

One thought on “What A Difference A Year Makes

Leave a Reply

