It’s The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year…

And it really is – too!  The most wonderful time of the year, that is, at least in my little world.  But it’s also one of the busiest.  Unfortunately, when you’re battling a chronic illness, “busy” is like a four-letter word: kind of a bad one.  It’s not that being busy in and of itself is a bad thing – and the hustle and bustle of the holidays can actually be pretty fun.  However, when your energy reserves are low, and when every-day tasks are prone to wear you out even on your good days, being busier than normal can really strain you.

holiday-season-backgroundImage Source

Which is what I’ve been up against the past week or so.  As much as I love shopping, decorating, and preparing for the holidays, it’s been a lot to take on, and it’s all finally starting to catch up with me.  After crossing a few things off my check list each day, it’s usually all I can do to curl up on the couch with Captain America and get cuddles from our pets while we catch up on some shows.

On top of it all, we’ve had doctor’s appointments, birthdays to celebrate, and I’ve taken on the task of transferring The Hand-Written Life over to a self-hosted site (it’s still in the beginning stages, and I think it’s going to take me a while before I get everything situated the way I want it – but that’s why I’m starting early!!  I’ll keep you posted on the progress…I promise!)

On the inside, I feel like a vibrant, energetic person, but I don’t feel like I really get the chance to share that side of myself with the world very often.  I have so much inside of me that I want to get out, and to contribute – it can be very frustrating, even disheartening, to feel like it’s all locked up inside of you, and the key to getting it all out is something as wildly beyond your control as the recovery process.  (Of course, it’s not entirely out of your control – you can take care of yourself, follow your doctor’s orders, and take a whole host of other positive steps to encourage the process; but at the end of the day, your body has its own timeline for healing, and rushing things only sets you back).

But the good news is that almost all of the shopping is done, as is the decorating, and after Wednesday, things should actually calm down a bit, long enough for me to actually enjoy the holiday itself!

Until then, as much as I have every good intention in the world of getting down to business and doing some blogging – the reality is that it probably won’t happen as regularly until after the holidays.  C’est la vie, right?  I guess you really can’t do everything!

 

*      *      *

 

Have you had to make any sacrifices due to the time-crunch of the holiday season?  What are some things that you wish you could get to, but are just going to have to go by the wayside, this year?

 
 
 

RELATED ARTICLES

Happy December!

Happy December!

My Top 6 Holiday Shopping Stops

My Top 6 Holiday Shopping Stops

What Is Lyme Disease?

What Is Lyme Disease?

4 thoughts on “It’s The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year…

  1. We did one thing right and started Christmas shopping early. Unfortunately, my wife commits to making several different kinds of cookies to give away for the holidays even though we both work long hours and are tired. I was forced to make peanut butter balls because I made the mistake of making them better than my wife’s one year. That’s one mistake I won’t make again. ;)

  2. Duuuuuuuuuuuuuude hope that NyQuil kicks in soon. But sometimes the body has a way of kicking your ass and you just got to listen and relax. But hopefully you’ll recover to tip-top shape soon. :)

  3. Your last question makes me smile, since my answer is . . . almost everything, even the enjoyable things like reading. I was just thinking about this a few hours ago, actually. I’m trying to set myself up to expect a slow-moving through middle of next year as well, since a newborn (due a few months into the year) has a way of taking things over for a while.

  4. My husband was a pastor for over 20 years and Christmas was always a time of, well, work really. I mean, we celebrated, but it was about pulling together sermons, Christmas eve services, events, and get-togethers in our home. This is the first Christmas we’ve had in years where he’s not in that role and I love it. It’s still busy, but it’s free from the “work” aspect. Yay! Merry Christmas to you and your family.

Leave a Reply

