Joyful Home and Life: Thankful Thursday (A Day Early!)

 

Only 2 days left to sign up for The Hand-Written Life’s Holiday Card Exchange 2013!
What are you waiting for??

When I began my whole “Thankful Thursday” blog series, I always knew that I wanted to write the post about being thankful for my family on the actual day of Thanksgiving.  But then I realized that I actually have to write a post about family for my monthly contribution to Joyful Home and Life!  So I cheated, and only wrote one post, and now you’re getting a Thankful Thursday a day early.

I figure with all of the craziness that ensues on the actual day-of-Thanksgiving, you don’t really need to be bothered with reading a bunch of blog posts anyways.  Get off the computer (or tablet, or smartphone, or whatever) and go spend time with your family!

Normally, I would only share an excerpt of the post with you all here, and then make you go over to Joyful Home and Life to read the rest of it – but since it’s a shared post and the final installment of my Thankful Thursday series is pretty integral to The Hand-Written Life as well…I’m going to do something out of character and reblog the entire thing here.

Being Thankful: A Family Thanksgiving

Photo Credit: All-Free-Downloads.com

Photo Credit: All-Free-Downloads.com

Every year, as Thanksgiving rolls around, people begin to turn inwards – in towards their homes, their families, and their thoughts.  It’s kind of like our own, mammal version, of getting ready to hibernate for the winter.

As the last leaves drop from the trees and we awake to find frost on the grass, late Fall becomes a time for reflection, for looking back at the year and reminiscing about the good things we’ve experienced.  It’s also a time for meditating on our lives – all of the many ways we have been blessed over the past 365 days, but also the ways in which we could change and make the world a better place.

This is one of the things I love about Thanksgiving – it’s the calm before the storm of Christmas, when everyone is too busy wrapped up in a flurry of buy and need to even think about others, unless it’s about what others want.   Instead it’s a time to be thankful for what we already have.

Photo Credit: TheInspiredRoom.net

Photo Credit: TheInspiredRoom.net

And what I’m most thankful for this year is family.  And I have a lot of it!  So I guess that means I have a lot to be thankful for.

First off,  I am thankful that I got to see almost the entire clan this year – which isn’t something that happens very often (read: ever) now that everyone is grown and starting families of their own – even if the circumstances under which we were all gathered together were some of the hardest any of us had ever experienced, following the passing of my Grandmother.  But as sad as some of those moments were, I can really only be thankful that we had such an amazing woman in our lives, who had the power to bring us all together in life, and in death.

I am Thankful that I grew up around my cousins, and that as children we were able to create bonds tight enough that they still exist today, 20+ years later, even though we live in different states.

I am Thankful for the photos, for the smiles, and for being able to see my grandpa’s face light up as he met his great-grandchild and held him for the first time.

I am Thankful for those moments, sitting around the longest table I’ve ever seen, surrounded by family, with more food than we could ever eat – talking and laughing with a million conversations going at once, and kids crying and kids laughing and kids running, and all of the stories about our childhoods and reminiscing about “back in the day”…

But most of all, I am grateful that even though we celebrated it a few weekends early, nearly everyone I love got to spend Thanksgiving together.  I am Thankful that no matter how long we go between seeing each other, it’s never awkward or uncomfortable – we always just fall in right where we left off.  I am so blessed to be a part of this huge group of people that not only loves each other, but can lean on each other during the hard times and celebrate together during the good – and that even amidst our sadness we were still able to feel the joy that comes from being amongst family.

What are you Thankful for this Thursday?

“A person’s own family is, without doubt, the greatest wealth
that we will ever possess. Treasure every moment and take the time to ensure
that the story you create is one that you will be proud of
and look back on with a huge smile.”
-Anonymous

Leaves Fall

Photo Credit: All-Free-Downloads.com


 
 
 

RELATED ARTICLES

Thankful Thursday - Home Is Where The Heart Is

Thankful Thursday – Home Is Where The Heart Is

Thankful Thursday - Home Is Wherever I'm With You

Thankful Thursday – Home Is Wherever I’m With You

Thankful Thursday - Home Isn't A Home Without A Cat...Or Five

Thankful Thursday – Home Isn’t A Home Without A Cat…Or Five

Leave a Reply

