I’m Sorry I Suck

It’s recently come to my attention that I suck.

Well, I guess I’ve known it for a while, but I’ve only just now realized how bad it actually is.

Perhaps you’ve noticed it.  Actually, I’m pretty sure you have.  How cold you not?  It involves you!

You see, I’ve been pretty much the worst person ever at responding to your comments.  I’m not really when or why I became so neglectful of them – though I know I wasn’t always this horrible at it.  But somewhere along the line I fell into a down-hill-slide and today I’m absolutely terrible at it.  So, I’m sorry!  And I hope you’ll find a way to forgive me.

And I’ll try to do better – I promise!

You see, I’ve actually always felt extremely intimidated by comments.  Don’t get me wrong – I love them!  And nothing feels better than having people positively respond to, or interact with, something you’ve written.  But for some reason, I get super anxious at the idea of responding to them.  Seriously, I have no idea why!  It should be easy – it’s certainly not rocket science, and you definitely don’t have to write a masterpiece.  A thank you, an answer to a question, a commiseration, or a “Heck yes!” are really all that’s required.  I mean, honestly, most responses shouldn’t take more than a sentence or two.

Photo Credit: Support.Wordpress.com

Photo Credit: Support.Wordpress.com

So what’s my deal?  Why do I find it to be quite literally the hardest part about blogging??  I just can’t figure it out.

But, I DO have a plan.  Lots of plans, actually, for the blog, that I’m going to be implementing in the next few months – many of them small – but they’re all part of a much larger plan to make some even bigger changes over time.  And one of those changes will be that I WILL be responding to your comments!  Even if it kills me!  (Not to be overly-dramatic or anything).

Because most of all I want this blog to be a place for people to connect, to share their stories, and their inspiration – and the best (and really only) way to foster that connection is to be an active participant in the discussions, myself.

So bear with me as I get my act together over the next few weeks or so – and don’t be surprised if you find me responding to ages-old comments as I practice!

 
 

What is the most difficult/intimidating/anxiety producing part about blogging, for you?  Do you find it hard to respond to comments?  Or is it easy for you?  What is your best piece of advice for someone who struggles with it?

 
 
 

RELATED ARTICLES

Let's Get Personal

Let’s Get Personal

One Of Those Rainy Day Posts

One Of Those Rainy Day Posts

To Follow or Not To Follow...

To Follow or Not To Follow…

22 thoughts on “I’m Sorry I Suck

  1. The first step to addressing a problem is becoming aware that you have one. Great first step, Andrea! ;-D! I look forward to experiencing the changes you have in mind for your blog.
    Russ

    • Haha, why thank you, Russ! Hopefully I can follow my confession up with some real action – Oh wait! Yours is my first comment I’m replying to since writing, so I guess I’m off in the right direction!! ;)
      I’m excited to start implementing the changes, and I hope you as readers like them, too!!
      Best, Andrea

  2. Hey Andrea! This post caught my eye and I can totally relate to your concern. #1, You don’t suck, lol. #2, I love how you turned your anxious energy into a post. I’ve often heard that when writers encounter a situation or person that makes them uncomfortable they convert that to create a character or situation in their writing. And #3, You’re awesome!
    What I find difficult in blogging is not writing enough and just showing pretty pictures. I wish to expand with more text or story telling and also to keep things more consistent to present happenings.

    -Tutu

    • Awww, well thank you so much, Tutu!! I definitely struggle opening up all of that anxious energy into posts, because I’m afraid people will find it irritating or whiny! I’m glad to know that’s not how it comes across :)

      Good luck tackling your blogging pitfalls, as well! I think with crafty blogs like yours it’s hard not to just let the pictures do a lot of the talking for you! But I think you’ve done a good job of creating a balance, from the outside perspective, anyways!! :)

      Thanks for stopping by, it’s great to hear from you again!

    • Yes – I do that too! Sometimes I think, “Oh, that is such a thoughtful comment, it really deserves a response that I’ve put some effort into, I’ll do it when I get more time…” and then of course it never happens!

      But other times I just don’t know what to say – I worry that my responses sound…inauthentic or something? I don’t know if that’s quite the right word for it!

      • Comments are supposed to be more informal – think of what you would say if the person was there in the room with you…

        “Thank you”
        “That is very interesting”
        “I am going to call the police if you don’t leave right now”.

        I’d say that if a comment needs a lot of thought to respond to, lift it out of the comment section and build a post about it! This makes it more visible to everyone. And you can give the sender a heads-up that you intend to do so with a short and easy comment!

      • This is awesome advice! I think I do get caught up in feeling like my responses need to be…”formal” or “official” somehow. Which, now that I say it (type it) out loud, seems pretty silly! Especially because some of my favorite bloggers are just so themselves when they write, and it carries over into their comments as well.

        Thank you for giving me a different way of looking at it! I think it’s actually going to help a lot.

        (Also, really good point about making a longer response/comment into a post itself – I’ve actually thought about doing that a couple of times but never have, for some reason…I think I need to stop imposing so many rules on myself!)

  3. I love the comments part– it’s my favorite part of the writing process. In fact, my biggest fear is the crickets of silence chirping in response to a post! For me, trying to come up with something fun to write, that resonates with readers, takes them to a place, time or state of their heart is what’s difficult. I stare at the blank screen and think, “Nothin’. I got nothin’.” Horrors.

    • It sounds like you feel the same about a blank post screen as I do about a blank response box!! ;) From reading your work, however, I would never guess that you find that initial process difficult – you have a way of expressing yourself!

      But I agree – it feels pretty darn lonely to sit down and write a post that means something to you or is from your heart in some way and have no one respond. I really do love the idea of comments and the connection they bring, but for some reason the act of responding to them just paralyzes me!

    • That makes sense! I get the feeling completely, who’s going to want to comment on something if they’re going to be left hanging? That would be like making the effort of going up to talk to someone in person and having them just look at you and walk away…I think I need to just take some of the pressure off of myself of coming up with a “right” answer (what would a “right” answer be, anyways??) and just jump into the conversation!!

  4. Even though I would love to hear from you there is no right or wrong way like Russ said. This is your blog – your story. Don’t feel as if you have to answer every comment or comment on others blogs – just a like will do or keeping subscribed to our blogs is enough. The most important thing is you do not suck – you are a unique creation made by God – therefore you are perfect just the way you are! ;) Blessings ~ Patty

    • Thank you so much Patty! You are so sweet. And it’s good to know that I’m not putting everyone off by not being so timely with the responses…it alleviates my anxiety about responding a little bit, because I don’t feel the same pressure to getitdonealready!! Maybe that alone will help me be more successful :) Best wishes to you and yours, as well! I hope you all have a blessed weekend!

Leave a Reply

