24 Movies (and A TV Show) For Thanksgiving

 

Okay, so, confession time: I really wanted to have an entirely new list of movies for you all this month – but frankly, none of the ones I’ve watched recently have been worthy of recommendation.  Sad face.  I tried though, I really did!  But seriously, you know the movie you’ve just watched is bad when you describe the cast and the plot to someone and they don’t recall ever having watched it – and then you tell them about how weirded out you felt after it was over, and they remember that they HAVE seen it after all.

So, as it turns out, I may just love these old stand-bys even more this year, than I always have!  And may have already watched a couple of them, even though November has only just started…I did stretch my boundaries a little bit however, and added 4 movies and a television show onto last years list, and even gave it some new formatting.

Don’t worry though, I’ve got a long list of movies that I plan on watching throughout the rest of the month, so next year I promise to have a new list of Thanksgiving favorites to share!

24 Thanksgiving Movies and A TV ShowAs usual, a lot of the movies that I’m drawn to this time of year are related to Fall or Thanksgiving, but an equal number just give me that cozy Fall feeling – so don’t be surprised if you find a couple that don’t exactly “scream” Thanksgiving, to you.  With that being said, here are 24 of my favorite Thanksgiving/Fall themed movies (and a TV show) – I hope you find some that you and your friends and family can enjoy as well!

A side note for your convenience: Below you’ll find a list of 24 movies and a television show – some items are appropriate for children, and some are definitely not! Films with asterisks by their titles can be found on family-friendly channels such as The Disney Channel, ABC Family, The Hallmark Channel etc.

The movies marked with italics are the films that I have been especially looking forward to this year!

24 Movies (and a TV Show) for November
1.  Remember The Titans*
2.  Stepmom
  3.  Miracle on 34th Street*
4.  City of Angels
5.  A Family Thanksgiving*
6.  Planes, Trains & Automobiles
7.  Gigantic
8.  How to Marry a Millionaire
9.  Big
10.  Baby Boom
11.  Simon Birch
12.  A League of Their Own
13.  Funny People
14.  The Big Chill
15. Son-in-Law
16.  Any John Grisham movie – The Pelican Brief, The Client, The Firm, A Time to Kill, The Chamber etc. (I love these because they’re long and great for a stormy day with a cup of hot cider/tea/chocolate/coffee/whatever!)
17.  Homeward Bound: The Incredible Journey*
18.  A Charlie Brown Thanksgiving*
19.  Pocahontas*
20.  E.T.*
21. Wild America*
22.  The Wizard of Oz*
23. Winnie The Pooh and The Blustery Day*
24.  The Kid*
25.  Reba* – TV Show – I’m not sure why I love this show so much, but I absolutely adore it!  And for some reason the Thanksgiving episode is one of my favorites, and I have to watch it every year!

 

Are any of your favorite Thanksgiving/Fall movies on the list?  If not, which ones did I leave out?

CLICK HERE to Stream, Rent, or Buy any of the movies on this list!

 
 

RELATED ARTICLES

20 Movies for November

20 Movies for November

31 Movies for The Month of October

31 Movies for The Month of October

31 Movies for December

31 Movies for December

8 thoughts on “24 Movies (and A TV Show) For Thanksgiving

  1. Great titles, but don’t forget An Old Fashioned Thanksgiving – a short story by Louisa May Alcott that was created into a movie. It is usually on Hallmark. One of my favorites. There is even a sequel An Old Fashioned Christmas. Blessings!!

    • I have an embarrassing confession to make, which is that I have still never seen An Old Fashioned Thanksgiving! I feel like this is pretty unforgivable considering both my grandmother, my mother, and myself all adore all things Louisa May Alcott!! I was actually hoping to be able to add it to the list this year but I couldn’t get a hold of a copy in time :( Thank you so much for the suggestion though, I’m definitely going to have to keep an eye out on the Hallmark channel this season!!! Best wishes to you and yours :)

  2. I love the Hallmark Channel and watch to many Hallmark movies. You will have to watch an Old Fashioned Thanksgiving. They had a new Thanksgiving movie this year about the original site the pilgrims celebrated Thanksgiving. It was really good and you guess it included a love story.
    Thank you so much for stopping by http://www.recipesforourdailybread.com and linking up.
    Blessings, Diane Roark

    • Isn’t the Hallmark Channel great? I probably watch too many of their movies also, but they are fun family favorites to enjoy every year. I will have to check out their new Thanksgiving movie, thank you for the suggestion! I am always on the lookout for new ones to add to the list for next year :)

Leave a Reply

