EXTENDED – A Haunted Review and Giveaway

Due to popular demand, our Haunted Review and Giveaway has been extended!  Entries will now be accepted through Saturday the 19th at 1am (pacific).  Winners will be announced on the blog Saturday afternoon!  Good luck, and don’t forget to tell your friends!!

Today I’m excited to announce that this isn’t just any ol’ What I’m Reading post – it’s also a giveaway!!  Scroll down to the bottom of the page for the official details, and keep on reading for my review…but remember, today’s giveaway is also a flash giveaway – meaning it won’t stick along for long.  To be one of two lucky winners to receive a copy of Carolyn Ridder Aspenson’s paranormal novel Unfinished Business, you’ll have to enter to win between now and 1am pacific time!  Don’t forget!

Unfinished Business

Unfinished Business by Carolyn Ridder Aspenson

When I picked up the novel Unfinished Business by Carolyn Ridder Aspenson, I wasn’t really sure what to expect.  I had never read any of her work before, and it’s always a shot in the dark when you try out a new author or book series.  But only two chapters in and I was glad I had, and now I’m happy to say that I feel as though I’ve found a new author/book series that I can share and enjoy.

The novel falls into the genre of “paranormal chick-lit,” and centers around main character Angela Panther, and her mother, Fran.  The only thing is…Fran just so happens to be dead.  And when Fran comes back from the dead, so does Angela’s long-buried psychic gift – one she never even knew she had – bringing along with it all sorts of ghostly interruptions.  Now, on top of dealing with her mother’s death, the drama the comes along with raising a teenaged daughter, and you know, the rest of her life, Angela must figure out how to navigate the world of “celestial beings” as well.  Can she manage to help the dead, and still be there for her family, all without losing her own sanity?

There were several times throughout the novel that I found myself laughing out loud, much to the confusion of Captain America sitting on the other end of the couch – and there were even times I found myself with tears in my eyes.  Ridder Aspenson’s unique voice and mastery of humor shines brightly throughout the work, and that, coupled with her talent with character development and descriptions, lends a surprisingly realistic feel to the book despite the paranormal theme.  Characters such as Angela, her mother Fran, husband Jake, and best friend Mel, all come alive on the pages and feel like people you would like to know in real life, because boy would they be fun! – they truly feel like friends you’d want to have an adventure with, yourself.  And in the end, Angela manages to juggle all of those adventures pretty darn well, too, though I would have loved a more detailed resolution to one of the plot lines involving her daughter.

All in all, I really enjoyed this book, and I know you will too!  That’s why I’m thrilled to have the opportunity to give away an e-copy to two lovely readers out there.  Enter to win any time between now and 1am tomorrow (pacific time) by filling out the entry form below.  And don’t forget to tell a friend, because not one, but TWO copies are up for grabs!  Just share this post by clicking any of the buttons at the bottom of the page.

Good luck, and happy reading!

Fill out the Entry-Form here!

Entry Rules:  Entries accepted from 10/15/13-10/16/13.  You must be 18 years or older to win.  Use the entry form provided above.  Entry form will provide the option of entering three different ways.  Entry Methods: 1.  Post a comment in response to this post (suggestions include: your name and e-mail, why you’d love to win, etc…) – this first entry is mandatory.  2.  “Like” Andrea Kelly at The Hand-Written Life on Facebook – this is an optional 2nd entry.  3.  Tweet about the giveaway on Twitter – this is an optional 3rd entry.  Only entries submitted via the entry form will be considered valid. Enter as many times as you want!

RELATED ARTICLES

What I'm Reading: "The Lost Years" by Mary Higgins Clark

What I’m Reading: “The Lost Years” by Mary Higgins Clark

What I'm Reading: "Lethal Outlook" by Victoria Laurie

What I’m Reading: “Lethal Outlook” by Victoria Laurie

What I'm Reading: "What A Ghoul Wants" by Victoria Laurie

What I’m Reading: “What A Ghoul Wants” by Victoria Laurie

Blank Thumbnail
Blank Thumbnail
Blank Thumbnail

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


Find out more about Carolyn Ridder Aspenson Here!
Like Carolyn Ridder Aspenson on facebook today,
Or skip the giveaway and go straight to the book – Get the Kindle edition of Unfinished Business
ON SALE for just $0.99 (sale ends 10/17/2013).

9 thoughts on “EXTENDED – A Haunted Review and Giveaway

Leave a Reply

