How Saying “I Do” Changed My Life

Don’t forget to enter to win our Eat, Drink, & Be Married Wedding Day Giveaway Bag! Click here for all of the details, or check out our Giveaway page! The winner will be announced September 14th, 2013.

Here’s another fantastic guest post from Russ at A Grateful Man!

If you’re familiar with his blog, you’re probably also familiar with the tender and loving way he writes about his life with his Beloved.  Such posts always move me, and even before I met Captain America, I would think to myself, “man, I hope I am lucky enough to have a relationship like that.”  Even though it can’t always be smooth sailing, Russ and his wife are such a positive example of how to make things last.

Wedding Countdown 6 Days

How Saying “I Do” Changed My Life by Russ Towne

“I DO”.  Two of the shortest words in the English language, yet they come with the longest commitments two people can share. I said them nearly 34 years ago and meant them. Thankfully, My Beloved did too—the saying and the meaning them.

It’s a good thing too, because life is full of surprises and not all of them are pleasant.

So how did saying “I do” change my life? Those two little words gave to me a true life partner, friend, and grinding stone for the rock tumbler called life.

We both came into the relationship with a LOT of rough edges. I was only 21 and she was a year younger. We were thrown together like rough stones into the rock tumbler of life. We went round and round, noisily banging into each other, but always there with, and for, each other. In it together. Something we could count on even as life spun us round and round. Over time we slowly ground each other’s rough edges down.

While our relationship hasn’t always fun, and was often quite noisy, over time we both grew more polished, shined more brightly, and became a lot better for the experience.

Things will often get rocky, so it pays to keep rolling. That’s the stone-cold truth that we never take for granite. May saying “I do” create the same for you!

Check out Russ’s blog, A Grateful Man, for more “Reflections of a grateful man about the adventures and mis-adventures of living, loving, and learning”!

RELATED ARTICLES

Eat, Drink, & Be Married: Wedding Day Giveaway!

Eat, Drink, & Be Married: Wedding Day Giveaway!

Quoted: Wedding Bells Edition

Quoted: Wedding Bells Edition

The Keys to Marital Happiness: Guest Post by Russ Towne at A Grateful Man

The Keys to Marital Happiness: Guest Post by Russ Towne at A Grateful Man

2 thoughts on “How Saying “I Do” Changed My Life

Leave a Reply

