Quoted!

By now you should probably know how much I love quotes.  Which is a lot.  You’ve seen my giant quote binder, where I collect them all, waiting to pull one out at just the right moment.  To me, quotes are often much-needed reminders, sparks of truth, or snippets of beauty and understanding that we carry with us and that inspire us whenever we read (or re-read) them.   They are there – much like the green light at the end of Daisy’s dock in The Great Gatsby – as beacons of light, of hope, in otherwise dark and troubled moments.  We are not alone.  Some of them may be cliche, sure, but even then, the reason they are so over-used is usually because they say something important or teach us a lesson we need to learn.

So of course when Captain America and I sat down to do wedding planning, I knew that we had to incorporate quotes in some way.  There will even be a few placed on tables throughout the reception, including Darcy’s famous proclamation of love to Elizabeth Bennet in Pride and Prejudice.

Photo Credit: ReimaginationPrints on Etsy

But the ones that mean the most to me are the ones we put in our Guest Book.

Our Guest Book is actually a book we designed on Shutterfly, with all of our engagement photos in it, and plenty of blank space for people to sign their names and write us messages.  On the last two pages, however, we also put several quotes.  To me these quotes represent the beauty and necessity of love – and they will be there, waiting for us to go back to read on the hard days, standing as reminders of our enduring promise.

Quoted Wedding Bells

“I am here to love you, to hold you in my arms, to protect you.  I am here to learn from you and to receive your love in return.  I am here because there is no other place to be.”
Message In A Bottle

“Let us look forward to the coming anniversaries, with their age and their gray hairs, without fear and without depression, trusting and believing that the love we bear each other will be sufficient to make them blessed.”
– Mark Twain

“With this ring, I give you my heart, I promise from this day forward, you shall not walk alone, may my heart be your shelter, and my arms be your home.”
– Marianne Williamson

“‘But in a marriage, you’re promising to care about everything.  The good things, the bad things, the terrible things, the mundane things…all of it, all of the time, every day.  You’re saying ‘Your life will not go unnoticed because I will notice it.  Your life will not go un-witnessed because I will be your witness.'”
Shall We Dance?

RELATED ARTICLES

Quoted: Life, Dreams, and Expecations

Quoted: Life, Dreams, and Expecations

Quoted: Valentine's Edition

Quoted: Valentine’s Edition

Quoted: The Collection

Quoted: The Collection


 
 
 
 
 


Make your own photo book of memories on Shutterfly.com

Get the look: Mr. Darcy Proposal Jane Austen Art Print by ReimaginationPrints

Rent or Buy your copy of Shall We Dance? today!

2 thoughts on “Quoted!

  1. I love these quotes! I just noticed you’re getting married in 11 days! WOW! I always knew it would happen for you.
    xo

    Here is something I heard once and have written in wedding cards since. It has two words that mean the same thing essentially but one is more profound depending on gender. Here it goes:

    Captain America: It is not enough that you love Andrea, you must also cherish her
    Andrea: It is not enough that you love Captain America, you must also respect him

    much love to you both,
    Diana

Leave a Reply

