Ooo, You’re My Best Friend

*Post Title taken from the song You’re My Best Friend by Queen

When Captain America set off on our 3,000 mile road trip our first stop was in Sacramento, where we stayed over night with my best friend since 6th grade.  It was an absolutely wonderful visit and an amazing experience to reconnect with my dear friend again.  Not only did we get to see each other in person again for the first time in nearly 5 years, I was also introduced to her beautiful 16 month old daughter.

We were lucky enough to be able to spend some quality time together that night over a delicious dinner and the next morning over a hot breakfast cooked by her awesome husband.   And we were even more lucky to have her take our engagement photos (she’s a fantastic professional photographer).  She did an absolutely amazing job, and they are memories we will treasure forever.

As we drove back home, I couldn’t help but think of how truly blessed I am to have someone like Sierra in my life.  She is quite literally the best friend a girl could have, and I can’t wait for her to arrive in town next week to celebrate my wedding!  (And my bachelorette party!  Woo!)

Like many long-term relationships, ours has been through a lot.  We have shed a lot of tears, and tried each other’s patience more times than I can count.  But we have also shared countless joys, nights of giddy and hysterical laughter, more cartons of ice cream than we probably should have, and we’ve been there to lift each other up on days when we couldn’t do it ourselves.

She knows me better than anyone, and I would trust her with anything.  Quite literally – she’s the only person I feel totally comfortable delegating anything to, because I know she would make the same choice I would.  And even if she chose a little differently, I would still agree with her!

There’s a certain kind of comfort in knowing you have someone in your life with whom you don’t really even have to use words.  I don’t have to explain a thing, she just knows.  It takes a long time, and a lot of ups and downs to get to that place in a relationship – and a lot of people never get there.  Growing up takes you on a roller coaster of changes, but if you find someone who not only hangs in there for the ride, but still loves you at the end of it – well then, what more could you ask for?

SieandDre

Thelma and Louise

Thank you for the 15 years you’ve spent by my side.  I hope I can show you someday how much it’s meant to me.  Here’s to 15+ more!

RELATED ARTICLES

2 Weeks, 3000 Miles, 3 States, and A Birthday

2 Weeks, 3000 Miles, 3 States, and A Birthday

Road Trip Adventures Pt. 1 - Or Why Drunk People Shouldn't Wear High Heels

Road Trip Adventures Pt. 1 – Or Why Drunk People Shouldn’t Wear High Heels

Road Trip Adventures Pt. 2 - Or, Vegas is Way Too Flipping Hot

Road Trip Adventures Pt. 2 – Or, Vegas is Way Too Flipping Hot

Road Trip Adventures Pt. 3 - Or It's a Looooong Way Down

Road Trip Adventures Pt. 3 – Or It’s a Looooong Way Down

Leave a Reply

