Tragically Flawed? Join The Club

This is quite possibly one of the most beautiful, and honest things I’ve ever read/heard.

From the amazing show Everwood on The WB (back before it turned into The CW), it’s only one of the many quotes that has stuck with me over the nearly seven years since it ended.  Although the show began to lose steam after the first few seasons, I still consider it to be one of the best things ever aired on television.

(And if you’re a fan of quotes like I am – keep a pencil handy because you’ll be writing them down every episode. Especially during the intro/outro voice-overs.  They’ll give you the chills every time.)

But of all of the poignant moments, this is THE moment, because it’s something I think everyone can relate to.  And even though it’s a bit depressing and I’m actually quite happy right now – meaning it doesn’t really fit for me, personally, at the moment – I thought it was important to share.  Especially because I have a few self-reflection pieces coming up in the next few weeks; And this is the best starting point for a discussion on fatal flaws I could possibly think of!

Watch the scene in the clip below, or scroll down to read the entire quote (I typed it out for ya, because I know there are some of you who are at work etc, or who’d just rather not bother with a media clip).  Enjoy!

(No idea why wordpress won’t let me center the video but it’s driving me BATTY!)

“The more things change, the more they stay the same.  I’m not sure who the first person was who said that. Probably Shakespeare.  Or maybe Sting.  But at the moment, it’s the sentence that best explains my tragic flaw: my inability to change.  I don’t think I’m alone in this.  The more I get to know other people, the more I realize it’s kind of everyone’s flaw.  Staying exactly the same for as long as possible, standing perfectly still…it feels safer somehow.  And if you are suffering, at least the pain is familiar.  Because if you took that leap of faith, went outside the box, did something unexpected…who knows what other pain might be out there, waiting for you. Chances are it could be even worse.

So you maintain the status quo.  Choose the road already traveled and it doesn’t seem that bad.  Not as far as flaws go.  You’re not a drug addict.  You’re not killing anyone… except maybe yourself a little.

When we finally do change, I don’t think it happens like an earthquake or an explosion, where all of a sudden we’re like this different person.  I think it’s smaller than that.  The kind of thing most people wouldn’t even notice unless they looked at us really close.  Which, thank God, they never do.

But you notice it.  Inside you that change feels like a world of difference.  And you hope this is it. This is the person you get to be forever…that you’ll never have to change again.”

What do you think about Ephram’s Tragic Flaw?  Are you guilty of the same?  How do you handle change?

Related Articles

Time May Change Me...

Fall Reflections: Time May Change Me…

Quoted: Quotes From Unexpected Locations

Quoted: Quotes From Unexpected Locations

What I'm Watching: Bunheads

What I’m Watching: Bunheads

 
 
 
 
 
 
 


Rent episodes of Everwood on Amazon today,

Or buy the entire first season here!

4 thoughts on “Tragically Flawed? Join The Club

  1. Woah! Powerful! Thank you for sharing this wonderfully touching and thought-provoking post, Andrea. I think that what helped me to change the most was when I realized that the people who truly love me will always love me, and those who don’t, won’t, no matter what I do or don’t do. It was a very freeing, enabling,and inspiring, epiphany. I’m not talking about issues of integrity and fidelity, just about everything else.

Leave a Reply

