The Big 2-6

On Sunday I turn 26.  I haven’t thought too much about it, honestly, what with all of the wedding planning and house remodeling, so it’s kind of snuck up on me.  And I kind of like it that way, as I haven’t always had the best luck with Birthdays – in fact, a lot of them have downright sucked – but as I sit down to think about it now, I’m feeling pretty hopeful.  Practically positive, even.

First of all, I have some pretty amazing friends and family to celebrate with this year.  And Captain America is better than good (he took my car to get an oil change, and washed it, inside and out, until it sparkled for me yesterday, because he’s awesome).

I'm not as horrible a driver as the lack of hubcaps would suggest...I swear!

I’m not as horrible a driver as the lack of hubcaps would suggest…I swear!

And with a wedding and a honeymoon just a month afterwards, I’d say that’s a pretty good way to kick off a new year in life.  Not only that, but then comes Fall, and with it Halloween and Thanksgiving; which will only be followed by Winter, and Christmas.  My favorite time of the year is sneaking up on us faster than we think!  And I’m looking forward to spending it together, as newlyweds.

Dare I say it?  I think 26 might just be a good year.  Full of new beginnings.

Okay, so it’s not all flowers and sunshine.  There’s no denying the fact that I’m no where near where I’d hoped I’d be by 26 in a lot of ways.  Getting sick held me back from many of the “normal” experiences people have in their early-20s, and I always assumed I’d be on my career track by this time in my life.  But now that I think about it, I always thought I’d feel more adult by the time I was 26, and frankly there are times when I don’t feel much older than 16, so I suppose that IS pretty normal.

i-miss-being-the-age-when-i-thought-i-would-have-my-shit-together-by-the-time-i-was-the-age-i-am-now

Photo Credit: Someecards.com

At the end of the day, I have a pretty freaking awesome life, and I wouldn’t trade it in for anything.  And I think that’s what really counts.  Besides, maybe this will be the year when all of that other stuff will change.

Here’s to 26!

What’s one thing you think everyone should do/accomplish/experience before the age of 30?

Related Articles

2 Weeks, 3000 Miles, 3 States, and A Birthday

2 Weeks, 3000 Miles, 3 States, and A Birthday

But Where Did August Go? - My 25th Birthday

But Where Did August Go? – My 25th Birthday

Growth Spurts

Growth Spurts

3 thoughts on “The Big 2-6

  1. Happy Birthday!! And I assure you that whatever I thought I was going to be when I was 26 was nothing like what life had in store (except for the ‘mom’ part). One of my favorite sayings from my mom – ‘Man plans and God laughs’…enjoy your day, all that you have to look forward to and only look back when you need to see how far you’ve come!

  2. 26 eh? Now I’m not twice your age anymore – I’m twice your age, minus 2 years! As for what should be accomplished by age 30… I think the sooner you are true to who you are in all you do, the better! In this manner things naturally fall into place. Happy Birthday, Happy Marriage and Happy life to you.
    xo

Leave a Reply

