Screw Fences, Wine Makes A Much Better Neighbor

There are times in life when you come across a certain person, or persons, and all you can think is, “How could you possibly be so bitter, so hateful, so mean…so totally crazy?  How did you make it to adulthood without having someone, somewhere teach you that you just can’t go around treating other people like that?”

Or, you might think to yourself, “‘She talks to me like she’s never been punched in the face before.'” (which is one of my all time favorite lines from the failed NBC version of the show Prime Suspect staring Maria Bello).

And then there are times in life when you come across a person, or persons, who is nice to you for no reason – they may even be a stranger – but no matter who they are, they make you stop and think, “Wow, in the midst of all of the things that must have occurred to you over the course of your life, how do you still manage to be so good, so caring?  What makes you think of doing such kind things out of the blue? (I fancy myself a pretty nice person, but even I wouldn’t have thought to do that).”

Now, I don’t quite know why it worked out this way, because plenty of times bad things are only followed by more bad things, instead of good ones (maybe it was just the universe’s way of making it up to me for sticking me with insane neighbors), but after having the misfortune of encountering two of the most awful people in my entire life, my doorstep was graced by a wonderful vision bearing a bottle of wine and a kind note.

Perhaps, she too has felt the wrath of the crazies.  Whatever the reason, in that moment life gave me exactly what I needed – a reminder that not all people are really that bad, in fact, some of them are exceptionally good.  And if you’re a good person, regardless of what others say or do or how they treat you, that will be recognized, even if it’s in the littlest of ways.  And for that, I am thankful.

KarmaBuddhaBuncee

5 thoughts on “Screw Fences, Wine Makes A Much Better Neighbor

  1. Love this post. Love wine. Love this line: She talks to me like she’s never been punched in the face before and hope to use it on one of my DEBQ Sunday quote posts one of these days when I’m feeling feisty and in-your-face-ly! ;)

  2. I think most people are good but the bad ones really stand out. My wife is a manager at a large apartment complex and I hear stories all the time about how nasty people are, but often, after a resident unleashes a tirade, Rose will get an apology a day or two later.

  3. I love that line from Bello on that show. LOVE IT! Was pretty burned out when it got cancelled because I thought she was great and I thought the show was pretty cool. They totally need to give it another shot. :)

Leave a Reply

