An Ode To Lazy Days

green blurred background

In my house, lazy days usually happened on Sundays.  Growing up, I would procrastinate all of my homework until the last minute, and then spread out on the living room sofa and watch Lifetime Mystery Movies all day while catching up. Eventually my step-dad would come into the room – after working in the yard or checking off a list of other household tasks – with a cup of coffee in hand, and ease into a chair.  You could tell it was never with the intention of staying there longer than the time it took to finish his coffee, but then the questions would come.  “Who’s that guy?”  “Well, why’s he doing that??”  One movie would end, another would start, and before you knew it we would find ourselves having spent the rest of the afternoon that way.

Now that I no longer have homework to do, and I’m past the point of being so sick that I’m stuck on the couch, I’ve found myself less and less likely to sit down and watch TV for an entire day.  In fact, I almost thought I’d had my fill of lazy days entirely!  But yesterday – although my plans were to clean the house, vacuum, and organize the stack of childhood books I brought back from my grandparent’s house over the weekend – I accidentally found myself in front of the tv with some snacks and a marathon of Lifetime movies.  And it turns out, a lazy day was just what I needed!

I had forgotten how nice an idle day by choice could be.  And how much I actually really missed them.  Kinda like when you’re a kid and you’re home sick from school, it’s hard to appreciate “free” days when you don’t feel well, or when you know there’s someplace else you should be/something else you should be doing.  I had forgotten what it was like to sit on my rear on the couch just because I felt like it!

So as I navigate this transition from sick to healthy, I’ve decided I need to remind myself that just because I can do something, doesn’t mean I have to!  As much as I want to race into everything, because it’s been so long since I’ve been able to do a lot of what I used to, it’s still important to remember to take some time just for me.  Which means these days my lazy days will be comprised of Hallmark Movie Channel marathons (Mystery Woman, Diagnosis Murder, Matlock, Murder, She Wrote), Pinterest, and chocolate covered peanuts – only now my company will consist of a couple of cuddly kitties.

Kittycuddles

This weekend was a great reminder that, not unlike the way we rack up sleep-debt from going too many days in a row without getting enough sleep, we also rack up emotional/inspiration-debt if we forget to nurture that part of ourselves. Just because you sleep for 12 hours one day, doesn’t mean you can skip it entirely the next – so too we must tend to our emotional and inspirational needs on a daily basis, even if it’s just in small ways.

When was your last lazy day?  What did you do?  (Better yet, what didn’t you do??)

5 thoughts on “An Ode To Lazy Days

  1. You can never take a lazy day for granted. With two small children and a full-time job, lazy days no longer exist! There are some days that are “lazier” than others, but at this point, I’m looking forward to a day, about 13 years from now, that I can plan absolutely nothing, and do just as little :) Lay in the sun, put my feet up, take a nap…….hmmmm, I’d take a few hours of lazy!

    • Oooh I bet! It definitely sounds like you’ve got your hands full. When you finally DO get some down time, you probably won’t even know what to do with it! Hehe I hope you find a few moments just for you, here and there ;)

  2. Pingback: Day 198: Lazy Sunday | Finding God in 365 Days

Leave a Reply

