Testing, Testing, 1-2-3

About a month ago, something odd began happening around my house…

It started at around one in the morning (as most unfortunate events do).  I walked into the bathroom, and turned on the light.  Immediately I could tell something went wrong.  The switch broke.  The switch broke ON.  Now this wouldn’t be terribly inconviencing except for the fact that the bathroom door happens to be right next to my bedroom door, and I have trouble sleeping in anything other than total darkness.

So we bought a new switch and installed it…the switch worked – but the light was now broken OFF.

A few more days passed, during which I wasn’t often home, so my bathroom being in total darkness after about 3pm didn’t really bother me, (although I did discover it is seriously hard to put makeup on when you have no decent lighting. Oompa Loompa Doom-pa-dee-doo…).

But then, my TV started acting funny.  At first it just had weird lines running across the screen whenever you pressed a button on the remote.  Not long after that, Captain America and I were sitting down to watch something, and I picked up the remote to change the channel…and it turned off.  We flipped the power strip, turned it back on, and this time he tried it. Yep.  Every time you touched the remote, the TV turned off.  Under normal circumstances, this would just be a sign that you need a new television.

Only, about three weeks before, I had finally made the leap into the 21st century and traded this giant mountain of a television that I inherited from my old roommate in,

Old TV

for this very exciting flat screen that doesn’t take up half of my living room:

New TV

Not only was it expensive, but it was also a pain-in-the-you-know-where to wrangle all of those cords into place.  Also, did you know that you can’t plug a traditional VCR into new TVs?  Well, I’m sorry, but a girl’s still gotta be able to watch her Disney movies…Anyways, you have to get a special little thing for it and blah blah blah (I honestly have no idea, I let Captain America take care of that part).  The point is, it wasn’t the easiest process to go through over something that was just going to turn around and break on me!

Oh well, right?  I mean, since it’s brand new, it’s still under warranty, right?  Nope – not through the store at least.  In the end I had to call the company, and they’re sending a technician out to replace the parts, (tonight, actually.  Yay!  I’ll finally have TV again after a month!)

Okay, okay, every-thing’s taken care of now…Except…a few days after that, my computer (laptop) started refusing to charge.  I switched plugs.  Nothing.  I jiggled.  I swore.  I threatened. No luck, I just watched as the battery continued to drain.

So, even though it was too early for bed, I crawled in anyways, just so I could watch something on my tiny bedroom TV while I ate.  I picked up the remote, I started pressing buttons.

The remote was broken.

Now, think about this for a second.  In the course of one week, my bathroom light broke, my tv broke, my computer cord broke, and my remote broke…I don’t know about you, but that seems like a ridiculous series of events.  Besides, isn’t bad luck supposed to occur in threes?  I’m no good at math, but I’m pretty sure that adds up to four…

The good news is I think the electronics curse is over – *knocks on wood* – because about a week later we (Captain America) successfully installed this new light above my kitchen sink, with few problems.  And now I can actually SEE when I’m doing the dishes.  It’s wonderful!

(Ignore the dirt ring from the old light cover, I hadn’t gotten around to cleaning the ceiling yet).

New Light

*   *   *

Today, after some more fiddling, my bathroom light is stuck back in the “On” position – only I’m also back to having no lights because the bulbs burnt out…and my computer cord magically decided to work again after a day of being unplugged – but both the remote and the TV are still dead – until tonight, when one of them will get fixed, at least!

But…if I should happen to disappear again for another week or so, don’t discount the fact that in the process of fixing the television, I ended up with absolutely no electricity at all! :P

Why did all of my electronics suddenly decide to hate me?  What’s the last string of bad luck that you encountered?  Did it come in three’s?  Or was there more?

2 thoughts on “Testing, Testing, 1-2-3

Leave a Reply

