What I’m Watching

Game of Thrones

Photo Credit: HBO

Game of Thrones

In general, this isn’t exactly my type of television show or movie, but it’s a favorite of many of my friends – including Captain America.  So with the new season starting last Sunday, I’ve been in catch up mode major in order to be able to watch it with him!

Based on the fantasy books A Song of Ice and Fire by George R. R. Martin, the action occurs in a fictional world full of magic and trickery, and follows the lives of seven noble families as they fight for control of the Iron Throne and ultimate power over their land.

Though the show is loosely based around a recognizable European history – placing a heavy emphasis on social hierarchy, war, land rights, and the like – it’s setting, the continents of Westeros and Essos, is definitely one out of the imagination (when we join the series it is as a decade long summer is coming to an end), and it’s time period, ambiguous.

The thing that sets this series apart from many other fantasy series – such as Harry Potter or Lord of The Rings, where it’s obvious from the start who you should be rooting for – is that there is no clear-cut line between “good” and “evil.” Although there are some characters that you’ll definitely love to hate, many more face the real-life conundrum of being both “good” and “bad,” depending on the situations they find themselves in.  In fact, I’ve actually found it hard to like most of the characters, so far – with the exception of Arya Stark (though I won’t get into why I like her here, trying to avoid any spoilers!). Additionally, both in the books and the television adaptation, the writers are unafraid to kill off characters, even main ones, which is often startling in a time where many plot-lines are predictable. (However, I have found that if viewed the right way, the show can come off a little predictable in it’s unpredictability if that makes sense).

Honestly, the only problem I have with the show is that all of the characters speak with a British accent – in order to legitimize the fact that they’re all of the same area I suppose – except, hardly any of the actors are actually from England, so many of the accents come off stilted and fake.  If I concentrate too hard on this while I’m watching an episode it drives me a bit crazy – especially given the fact that the show isn’t even supposed to take place in the UK (though it is filmed there).

All in all, however, it’s definitely a show I would recommend, especially if you’re a fan of series that build.  Though there’s no doubt that the first two seasons are entertaining and well-made, it’s not until the third that we begin to see exactly where this Game of Thrones is going to take us – and what kind of magic and evil awaits there.  Game of Thrones airs Sunday nights at 9p on HBO.

Are you a fan of Game of Thrones?  Why or why not?  Who is your favorite character?  Who is your least favorite character?

*Note: This is definitely an HBO show – adult language, sexual content, nudity, and violence.
2 thoughts on “What I’m Watching

  1. Just for a different point of view, as a life-long science fiction fan I find little to like in the show. It’s largely a medieval context saga populated by a bunch of right arseholes busily stabbing each other in the back (often literally, and very, very little in the way of SF… a few glimpses of dragons and a touch of magic… bah). Sort of “reality TV” taken to extreme extremes.

    I’ve watched the first two seasons only because of Peter Dinklage’s Tyrion, who is the only character I find at all likeable in the thing. Part of the problem is that it takes itself too seriously. That’s what makes Tyrion so refreshing. A breath of life and self-awareness in an otherwise dark, yet pedestrian, tale.

    My sister, who’s never read a science fiction book in her life, loves the show, which I think says a great deal about what the show really is. Fun if you like that sort of thing, I guess. Personally, I’d rather spend my TV hours with something not quite so ugly and corrupt.

Leave a Reply

