Quoted!

QuotedValentinesBuncee

“Romantic love and loss are probably the most present physical manifestation of the richness and poverty of God that we can find on earth without having to look too hard, (we can’t all be mystics or monks or students of psychotropic drugs).” – Tyler Lyle

“Grief is the price we pay for love.”
Queen Elizabeth II

“If love does not know how to give and take without restrictions, it is not love, but a transaction that never fails to lay stress on a plus and a minus.”
-Emma Goldman

“I love you. I should have told you that a long time ago. Any jokes…I should have said the words…because I know now that the love we hold back is the only pain that follows us here.” -Always

“Obedience keeps the rules. Love knows when to break them.”
-Anthony de Mello

“You’re an interesting species, an interesting mix. You’re capable of such beautiful dreams and such horrible nightmares. You feel so lost, so cut off, so alone, only you’re not. See, in all our searching, the only thing we’ve found that makes the emptiness bearable…is each other.” -Contact

“‘I think love is an imperative.  It obligates you…Even if it’s hard.  My mother.  This man.  Anyone.  And I’m not just talking about being in love.  I mean any kind of love.  You don’t mess around.  You don’t walk away.  You can’t…It’s what we’re here for,’ explained Pen.  ‘It’s what we’re for.'” -Falling Together

“I have looked into your eyes with my eyes. I have put my heart near your heart.”
-Pope John XXIII

“Then love knew it was called love.
And when I lifted my eyes to your name,
suddenly your heart showed me my way”
-Pablo Neruda

3 thoughts on “Quoted!

  1. [BWG] I think we can tell that this young woman is in love! :D

    I’m going to disagree a bit with the first one. I think sharing and caring and just interacting with each other is the manifestation. Romantic love is a fairly new invention that we’ve come to, perhaps, over-revere just a bit in our culture. Our fascination with it leads to a lot of heartbreak and pain. I was just reading the blog of someone with a much bitterer view of Valentine’s day, and some of that view comes from thwarted expectations of romantic love set in high school or even grade school.

    The other problem with romantic love is that it’s hard to sustain all that fire over time. At some point the fires bank and then you learn what love is really all about: it’s about commitment. It’s about deciding to be in a relationship, this relationship.

    And that’s not always pretty, and it’s rarely easy. It is incredibly rewarding and worth the effort.

    Perhaps rather than romantic love, we should idolize sustainable love. Green Love, as it were.

Leave a Reply

