I Want To Hold Your Hand

Hello all!  How was everyone’s weekend?  I spent mine wasting WAY too much time on Pinterest and running errands with Captain America…all in all I’d say it was pretty successful ;) Plus, while I was putzing around the internet, I stumbled on this article from last year, I thought it was pretty touching, and thought I’d share.

So here’s a cute little love story for you this Monday:

Within 12 hours of graduating high school, Norma and Gordon Yeager were married. That was in 1939.

Gordon and Norma Yeager

Photo Courtesy of Yeager Family

72 years later the couple was still inseparable, even after a devastating car accident left them hospital bound.  Sharing a room, they lay together in their hospital beds holding hands, until Gordon passed away in October of last year.  But what happened next surprised everyone.  Although he was no longer breathing, Gordon’s monitor still showed a heart beat. Nurses quickly realized that his body was picking up the heartbeat of his wife, through the hand she was still holding on to.

Norma died exactly one hour later.  As their son Dennis Yeager put it, “Dad used to say that a woman is always worth waiting for…Dad waited an hour for her and held the door for her.”

For the services, the couple (later cremated together) was placed in a casket, holding hands – “because that’s the way their life was,” said daughter, Donna Sheets.

Their love story has now become an inspiration to many, but to none more-so than the family who knew the Yeagers personally.  After reflecting on his marriage to his grandfather, Randy Yeager remarked that he and his wife would never be getting a divorce. According to Randy, his grandfather Gordon responded, “That’s because you’re old school, like me!”

“That was one of the greatest compliments I could have ever received and one I will strive to live up to for the rest of my life.” -Randy Yeager

I liked this story because it sort of reminded me of a real-life version of The Notebook (the movie version that is).  Anyways, that’s all for now –  I hope you all have a wonderful Monday!!

2 thoughts on “I Want To Hold Your Hand

Leave a Reply

