The Purpose

When I very first started writing this blog in June 2012 I didn’t exactly have a plan in mind – except to write!  It’s been a passion of mine for nearly my whole life, and yet it’s not something I had ever done a lot of up to this point.  And certainly not something I’ve shared with others.  But I was looking for a new forum to stretch my boundaries a little, and one that would teach and inspire me.  Boy did I find that with you all! (Have I told you lately, that I love you?  Because I do!)

“In everyone’s life, at some time, our inner fire goes out. It is then burst into flame by an encounter with another human being. We should all be thankful for those people who rekindle the inner spirit.” – Albert Schweitzer

My focus, however, was pretty scattered.  As current readers, you probably realize that it still is for the most part, actually.  One thing I’ve read over and over in the blogging world, though, is that your blog should have a theme if you want to catch a reader’s eye and grab their attention for the long haul.  This is a concept I have never been very fond of.  I’m not a themed sort of person!  I can’t write strictly in a little themed box.  How BORING would that be?? No, my interests are far too varied and enthusiastic for me to be tied down to one specific topic for too long.  And I think if I were to try, I would hit that metophoric wall us writers are always referring to.  Part of what gets my mind going is the freedom to write about whatever I want, and anything and everything that I find inspirational – picked from a broad spectrum of life experiences.

So, when I started my blog, this is what I wrote in the About Me” section:

“This site is dedicated to all things that make me happy! Okay…and if you stick around long enough, you might catch a few rants too…But mostly you’ll find updates on the latest books in the works, what I’ve been reading, watching, listening to, and loving at the moment!”

Even still, I think it’s a description that rings pretty true!

But over the past few months, I have noticed there is one theme that tends to rise above all others.  The theme of relationships. Whether it be first dates, the end of things, toxic friendships, or just conversations I’ve had, I’m rarely afraid to pull from my own life experiences when writing.  Or, honestly, the life experiences of others.

“We are obliged to respect, defend and maintain the common bonds of union and fellowship that exist among all members of the human race.” – Marcus Tullius Cicero

Why, though?  Well, after thinking about it, it really wasn’t that hard to figure out. Personally, I think relationships are the most important thing you can cultivate in life. Not just romantic ones (though those are nice), but friendships, relationships with family members, the kids you went to school with, the people you work with…When you really think about it, every single relationship you’ve ever had has impacted your life and made you the person you are today.  There’s no discounting Nature, but the way that nature is Nurtured (or not!) by the people you’re surrounded with on a daily basis will profoundly effect the way those natural traits are played out.  (I’m sure we can all think of obvious examples of this in our own lives, and you can bet I will continue sharing even more of those people and experiences that have changed me, in future posts).

The Hand Written Life Purpose

If these people and experiences are so formative, there must be a reason for that.  I think by observing these relationships, by analyzing them – by questioning why we react certain ways when people do certain things, by questioning why other people do the things that they do – we can learn a lot about ourselves.  Even more, we can learn a lot about life.

“And the sound of my laughter is the result of thousands of other laughs. And the voice inside my head is a collection of every word said to me. And the love within my heart belongs to everyone I have ever known. And anything that is beautiful about me exists because of you. And I like that wherever I go, I take all of you with me. And I like that whoever I am, and continue to become, I owe to you and the gifts of goodness and beauty you’ve given me.”  – Frankie Zelnick

So yes, at the end of the day, in my world, relationships are by far the most important thing you can build.  Which means I may write a lot about them – whether they be past, current, or future; my own, or those I’ve observed between every day folks. And, I guess you could say, if this blog were to have one purpose, it would be: To inspire and encourage readers to really see the world, the people, and the relationships they are surrounded by – hopefully with an eye towards beauty and compassion where ever possible.

8 thoughts on “The Purpose

  1. I wrote 218 odd articles on Street Articles as a need to write and to improve my English… I had no theme but wrote what ever it was that struck the mind that day… I have not written now for a while but go back to see the stats as to what is being read and what not…. it surprises me to see that all of my wanderings are being read… with now nearly 95 000 reads I’m surprised that one was not chosen above another… seem we like to read diverse subjects.. or maybe we just like to read… what ever.. you keep on keeping on and we’ll keep on reading…

  2. Dude. I totally love your last line. VERY awesome “an eye towards beauty and compassion.” I love that. I try to do that in general, but on some days you just want to jump out the window :) I really enjoyed this post and I love the Albert Schweitzer, Ralph Fiennes, and Frankie Zelnick quotes. They are so powerful and speak straight to the truth. Great contributions to your post. And I agree that it was difficult for me too to find a single theme to base my blog on, but in the end just as you found relationships I found humor. It just takes a little time I guess. :)

  3. There are benefits to sticking with one subjuct but if you are a good writer (which you are), random posts work well too. I’ll be honest and say that I don’t read everything you write. I will sometimes skip subjects that don’t interest me but since you write often, I still have something interesting to read a few times a week.

    I have several blogs on different subjects and a personal blog for everything that doesn’t fit. My only problem is finding time to keep up.

  4. I absolutely love this post, Andrea–and I think it’s really cool that you incorporated buncee into it. We are very blessed to have a relationship with you–as you said, every relationship impacts your life in some way and you have impacted us with your gratitude and kindness.

  5. Right on! (I guess these days one says, “Mos Def!” or “Word!”)

    Something that’s always struck me is that the idea of relationships is deeply embedded in physical reality. There are things that exist–truly exist, totally real–but only as a form of relationship between other things.

    Pluck a guitar string, strike a piano note, hit a tuning fork, blow a note on a sax. One note.

    But a relationship between several notes makes a chord. The chord does not exist, except as that relationship.

    A relationship between notes and time makes a melody. The melody does not exist, except as that relationship.

    Relationships aren’t just important and vital and interesting and fun; they’re fundamental!

Leave a Reply

