Every New Beginning Comes From Some Other Beginning’s End

(Title taken from the song Closing Time by Semi-Sonic.)

Wow.  Suffice it to say, I’m having a hard time believing the year is almost over.  Quite honestly, things I was excited for and looking forward to last year at this time feel like they happened only a few months ago, not an entire 365 days ago.  Although I guess in some ways my life is so incredibly different than it was one year ago, that it almost feels like it could be an entire lifetime’s difference.

And for the most part, those changes have been for the better!  I’m no longer in a relationship that was clearly not the right one for me to be in.  I’m even more focused on my health and my writing.  I have a stronger support system than ever thanks to my wonderful friends and family – though I still feel like I’m missing a puzzle piece from time to time.

New Years 2012

Even still, I find New Years to be an odd time for me.  Most years I don’t look forward to it because there’s such an emphasis on going to parties and ending up with lamp shades on your head…but as you all know by now, that’s just not my style.  Also, as with most endings, the end of the year tends to bring out a certain amount of – well, I don’t want to call it melancholy, because that’s too depressing of a word…maybe nostalgia?  I dunno, just an odd mix of feelings, I guess, that I suppose is only natural when one senses it’s time to let go of the old and learn to embrace the new.

Which is silly when you think about it, because what is New year’s really, but a flip of the calendar page like any other?  Nothing actually changes.  Well, I suppose the calendar may get replaced instead of just turning the page this time, but still, that seems like an awful lot of emotions for a new calendar…

Either way, my New Year’s celebrations tend to be low key (with the exception of last year, when my boyfriend at the time was home for Holiday Block Leave and every day was a celebration!).  When I was younger, my family would get together and play board games or watch movies until it was time to watch the ball drop.  As I got older, the tradition basically stayed the same, only I was with friends or boyfriends instead. This year is the first New Years in 7 years I will spend single – and it’s also the first one I’ll spend alone!

But you know what?  I’m actually looking forward to it, because this year I’m making a new tradition!  Of course I’ve got the basics – my Project Runway marathon (Season 6 now), my sparkling cider and martini glass for midnight, and a clean pair of pajamas. But I also have something fun and new to do this year.

Memory Jar 2012

Last year, on New Year’s Day I started a Memory Jar.  And every time something special or important or memorable has happened since then, I’ve written it down on a slip of paper and stuck it in the jar.  So tonight, a little before the clock hits midnight I’m going to pull them all out and read them and review the triumphs of this year!

I’m really excited because I know I can’t remember half of what I put in there.  Of course there are some big moments I haven’t forgotten – like publishing my books, and being freshly pressed! – but for the most part I did my best to write down things that were maybe small enough to fade from memory in time, but still things to be grateful for and look back on with a smile. Plus, I think they’ll be a super fun addition to scrapbooks and memory books!

Another thing I’ll look forward to tonight?  Watching New Year’s Rockin’ Eve on ABC as the ball drops.  I know that because of time zone differences midnight hits at different times all around the world.  But the second the countdown hits zero and the ball lights up and the confetti starts flying with auld lang syne playing, it feels – for that moment at least – as though we’re all truly in it together.  And that is one of my favorite feelings of the year.

Happy New Year’s everyone!  I hope 2013 showers each of you with health, happiness, prosperity – and most of all I hope it is a year filled with love and compassion!

Do you have any New Year’s Eve traditions?  What will you be doing to ring in the New Year tonight? Do you like to watch the ball drop?  

10 thoughts on “Every New Beginning Comes From Some Other Beginning’s End

  1. Your blog is so fantastic, I just love it. I was the recipient of the Very Inspiring Blogger award and I am repaying that kindness by nominating yours! Just go to my newest post and save and upload your award. You’ll see from my post what to do. Keep up the great work!

  2. Happy New Year to you my friend! I completely agree with you about the mixed feelings toward the end of the year. Definitely a bit of everything that at some point in the night makes you want to have an entire box of chocolate either in celebration or bouts of sadness. But I do LOVE your memory jar. It sounds like a great idea and I definitely look forward to doing that next year. I love it. I’m going to steal it. :) I’m hoping that as you open your jar it brings you some good blasts from the pasts. Have a good night!

Leave a Reply

