My Favorite Thai Food

When I was a child, I was a very picky eater, so most “exotic” cuisine was out of the question as far as my taste buds were concerned.

As I’ve grown older, dinners out with friends, and a maturing palatte have introduced me to some foods I would never have tried before.

My first introduction to Thai food was Pad Thai with tofu, peanuts, and bean sprouts from the local market every Saturday.  The plates were large, so a friend and I often shared.  She enjoyed it with Peanut Sauce, and although I was a bit hesitant, I eventually gave in and tried it too.  Wow!  Delicious!  I’m such a fan now, that I’ve even learned how to make it at home!

From there I became a bit more open to exploring new foods (though I still don’t have a taste for Curries), and since I have a Thai restaurant literally a block away from me, I started visiting it on a regular basis.  Unfortunately, after several encounters with rude waitstaff, and a bout of food poisoning, I’ve had to give up that restaurant…

ThaiFood1

Luckily, there’s one on campus that’s even better, and there they have my absolute favorite Thai meal ever!

It’s called the “Veggie Delite” and it normally comes with rice, but I always get it with noodles :P  There’s also chicken, tomatoes, peas, green beans, baby corn, water chestnuts, celery, carrots, pineapple, and broccoli (it’s supposed to come with cabbage too, but I’m not a very big fan).  All served with the most delicious garlicy sauce.  I’ve done my best to recreate it at home, but the sauce is impossible to master – it’s got a slight hint of teriyaki, and I just can’t seem to get the flavor right!

ThaiFood2

And it just doesn’t taste the same without a Thai Iced Tea with Coconut Milk.

I could probably eat this for dinner every day if it wasn’t so darned expensive (about $20/person – which is a lot for this town).  As it is, it’s one of my favorite splurges that I save for one night each month.

Do you enjoy Thai food?  What’s your favorite Thai meal?  What foods have grown on you as you’ve gotten older?

4 thoughts on “My Favorite Thai Food

    • One of my friends was talking about how she craved Thai food when she was pregnant also! How funny. I think it’s awesome that your son started out with more “exotic” foods at such an early age too :)

      It really is delicious though, I just love the blend of flavors.

  1. $20/person is a bit pricey — don’t care where you live! :). Love Thai food – but much like sushi, love the stuff – just don’t ask me what it is because for the most part, I have no idea. Lol

Leave a Reply

