Handmade Holidays

Even though it takes a lot more time than going out and purchasing cards, or even typing up a holiday letter, I do my best to make my holiday cards each year.  This feels especially important for those friends and extended family members with whom I exchange cards instead of gifts.  Regardless of the amount of money spent, I know that the time, energy, and thought that went into each piece will always be appreciated.  This time of year – especially while many are still suffering the effects of a recession – it really is the thought that counts!

HolidayCards1

It usually takes about a week, because I tend to curl up on the couch and work on them in the evenings, though I know if I were more dedicated I could probably get things done in 2-3 days.  I start by writing down all of the names of the people on my list (this year I have cards going to 28 different people/households), and then I scour the internet for ideas.  Each card is unique and one of a kind – and I try to design them with the person they’re being sent to in mind.

Here are a couple more shots of the finished products!

HolidayCards2

HolidayCards3HolidayCards4

I’m sure as I get older and busier, and have more cards to send out, I probably won’t always be able to find the time to hand-make every card.  But at the moment this is one of my favorite ways to get into the Christmas spirit every December.  And I was hard at work all weekend finishing this year’s batch so I could finally pop them in the mail. (Last year I was late enough with a few that they could technically have been considered New Year’s cards…)

So as far as the rest of my To-Do list goes…

Shopping: Check!  Cards: Check!  Tree: Check!

All with one week to go!  It’s quite possible I’ve never been this organized about a holiday in my life.  Time to finish decorating the tree, and relax :)  Maybe I’ll even bake some cookies!

Which card design is your favorite?  Do you send out Christmas Cards or do a Holiday Letter?  Store bought, or hand-made?  How many people are on your list this year?

8 thoughts on “Handmade Holidays

  1. Hi Andrea! These cards are fantastic!
    My favourite is the teddy bear reindeer :)
    I must confess I buy my Christmas cards, I did attempt to make them one year but just couldn’t keep focused.
    I have a lot of people on my list this year but trying to keep it down low hehe
    I admire your skills and motivation :)

    • Aw, well thank you so much!

      And I’m sure that your cards are just as appreciated as they would be if they had been hand made. Any time you sit down to address something to someone shows you took the time to be heartfelt and think of them :)

      I hope you had a wonderful holiday!!

Leave a Reply

