Sunday Songbird

SundaySongbird

“There’s a happy feeling nothing in the world can buy,
As we pass around the coffee and the pumpkin pie,
It’ll nearly be like a picture print by Currier and Ives,
These wonderful things are the things we remember all through our lives!”
Sleigh Ride – Ella Fitzgerald

“Crowded street, busy feet hustle by him, 
Downtown shoppers, Christmas is nigh, 
There he sits all alone on the sidewalk, 
Hoping that you won’t pass him by…”
Pretty Paper – Willie Nelson

(I have loved this song since birth – I actually had to listen to the album “Pretty Paper” every night or I couldn’t go to sleep!  It went on for so long as a child, that I no longer consider it Christmas music really…)

I chose these two songs today, not only because they’re two of my favorites, but also because they show a true contrast.  Let us not forget, this holiday season, those who are less fortunate.  Let us provide hope and not judgement.

7 thoughts on “Sunday Songbird

  1. This is lovely. I adore Ella Fitzgerald and especially her Christmas songs. And I really like Willie’s song now that you’ve introduced me to it, and with a sweet back story. Thanks so much for sharing! Merry Christmas :) xo

  2. “Let us provide hope not judgment.” These six words embody the holiday spirit as much or more than any I’ve heard, Andrea. Imagine a world where everyone did as you suggest. What a wonderful world that would be!

    Russ

Leave a Reply

