31 Movies for December

Happy December Everyone!

This was supposed to be more like a list of 25 Christmas movies – one for each day leading up to Christmas Day…but I love Christmas and got a little carried away, so now it’s a list of 31 movies for the entire month of December instead!

You can also check out ABC Family’s “25 Days of Christmas” schedule here – a lot of the movies I’ve mentioned below are on the list, so be sure to catch your favorites when they’re on TV if you get the chance.

31 December Movies

1.  A Charlie Brown Christmas

2.  Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer

3.  Frosty The Snowman

4.  Holiday InnWhite Christmas

5.  The Bells of St. Mary’s

6.  It’s A Wonderful Life

7.  Love Actually

8.  Life As a House

9.  The Family Stone

10.  The Polar Express

11.  Elf

12.  National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation

13.  Sleepless in Seattle

14.  Single Santa Seeking Mrs. Claus & Meet The Santas

15.  Home Alone

16.  Once Upon A Christmas & Twice Upon A Christmas

17.  Beauty and The Beast

18.  Dr. Seuss’s How The Grinch Stole Christmas

19.  The Santa Clause 1, 2, & 3

20.  Santa Clause is Coming To Town

21.  When Harry Met Sally

22.  Little Women

23.  The Nightmare Before Christmas

24.  Edward Scissorhands

25.  Jack Frost

26.  The Muppet Christmas Carol

If you’ll notice, one popular favorite, “A Christmas Story,” I’ve left off the list.  Why, you ask?    Because I’ve still never seen it!!  Even though TBS has been doing the “24 hours of A Christmas Story” for years now, I’ve still only managed to catch bits and pieces, and have never seen the entire thing.  This year it’s on my to-do list – along with watching “Meet Me in St. Louis” which I somehow haven’t seen yet either!

What are some of your favorite Christmas/Winter/December movies?

19 thoughts on “31 Movies for December

  1. Great post ..I started one similar on saturday, to do my top ten movies,daily by christmas, but now I realise I should do them altogether like you have otherwise its going to look like all I do is post christmas movies, so will have to revise my idea! love your choices x

  2. Home Alone is one of my favourite movies ever. I can watch it countless times and never get bored. I also like Jack Frost – a seriously underrated movie!

    • (First off let me apologize for taking so long to get back to your comment – you can check out my explanation on why I suck so bad at commenting back here: https://thehandwrittenlife.wordpress.com/2013/11/13/im-sorry-i-suck/)

      Anyways…Yes! I totally agree, Jack Frost is such an underrated movie! I love it! Home Alone actually used to terrify me as a kid (we saw it in theaters when it first came out and I got scared and wanted to leave lol), but as an adult I’ve really come to like it. I think it has to do with the nostalgia factor ;)

  3. White Christmas is probably the movie I would list as my favorite Christmas choice. I have an unusual affection for movies of that time period. I like the movies with Cary Grant, jimmy Stewart, Bing Crosby and others. The Santa Clause movies are a favorite of my kids, so i get a good helping of those as well. Home Alone may be one of the funniest movies I ever saw, but the premise got old the more it was played out in the sequels.

    • Yes! I think White Christmas is definitely my favorite, with It’s A Wonderful Life a close second. Captain America has never seen White Christmas before, so I’m really excited to introduce it to him this year.

      I share your affinity for movies of that era as well – probably because I grew up watching the classics with my family. But you really can’t beat the golden age of Hollywood, in my book! The newer movies (like Santa Clause and Home Alone) definitely have their place as well, so I still enjoy watching them, but I just can’t replay them over and over like I can some of the older films!

      (Also, I’m really sorry for not getting back to you sooner, for some reason, responding to comments gives me such anxiety! You can read more about it here: https://thehandwrittenlife.wordpress.com/2013/11/13/im-sorry-i-suck/ But I’m doing my best to work on it, and thought I’d start with some of the older posts I’d neglected in the past. I hope you and yours are having a great start to the holiday season, this year!)

      • I love anything with Jimmy Stewart or Cary Grant. This past Thanksgiving weekend I caught the end of “Rear Window” with JS and Grace Kelly and I can tell why she was America’s princess.

      • Yes! There was a Hitchcock marathon on AMC – I watched Rear Window and Vertigo (and The Birds…and Psycho). It was great! And so true, I just love Grace Kelly.

  4. I have never seen “A Christmas Story” either, how could we have both gotten away with this? I must say, my favourite for this time of year will always be “The Bishop’s Wife” I melt every time har har. Lovely post!

    • Well…it’s been a year, have you seen “A Christmas Story” yet?? I still haven’t! I’m determined to this year, but I say that every year and it still hasn’t happened yet!! I need to re-watch “The Bishop’s Wife” again as well, I haven’t seen it since I was little and I can’t really remember it very well – thank you for the reminder, I’ve added it to my list of movies to check out this year!

      Oh – and by the way, I’m sorry I fail so ridiculously at responding to your comment – for some reason I’ve always found responses to be the hardest thing about blogging, and after you put it off for such a long time…well, it’s kind of hard to go back and play catch up! You can read more about in this post: https://thehandwrittenlife.wordpress.com/2013/11/13/im-sorry-i-suck/

  5. Pingback: Top 5 Stale TV Specials | Gabriel Napoleon

  6. A good list, we watch all of them…I also watch Christmas in Connecticut with Barbara Stanywick, It Happened on Fifth Avenue, and we enjoy the Christmas movies on Hallmark, one of our favorites is with Henry Winkler ” Its the Most Wonderful Time Of The Year” and “A Dog Called Christmas”. I hope you like A Christmas Story it is one of our favorites and we have been watching it on TBS since they started doing while opening our presents. :) It is a corny tradition! Oh and one more I almost forgot, The Holiday with Cameron Diaz and Kate Winslet. My husband likes Danny DiVito in Deck the Halls and lets not forget Christmas with the Kranks, what can I say we love Christmas!! :) I can’t say which one is my favorite they are all great. Christmas blessings – Patty

    • Patty, thank you for so many great suggestions!! I’m sorry I didn’t respond to you sooner – but thank you for being so understanding about my comment anxiety :)

      Somehow, I haven’t seen the majority of the movies you mentioned, so they all went on the list! We have a winter weather warning this weekend so I see some cozy Christmas movies in my near future…Looking forward to it!

      I hope you are having a great start to the holiday season! Blessings to you and yours!!

      • There are so many good movies out there isn’t there! Yes, bad weather is the perfect time to snuggle and enjoy those old movies. The Hallmark Movie Channel is showing Old classic Christmas movies on Thursday nights – I have been looking forward to watching every week.

  7. Elf, The Family Stone, National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation, Love Actually, Sleepless in Seattle, Charlie Brown and Dr. Seuss’s How The Grinch Stole Christmas…dude you said it. I love watching those movies and can probably watch them over and over again. But the one I always watch Christmas day no matter what is A Christmas Story. Holy Crap! I can’t believe you haven’t watched it. I so hope you catch it this year and that enjoy it.

  8. Pingback: Coming Soon: 12 Days of Christmas « jonathan crumes

  9. Know this young lady: If you do not make a point of watching at least one version of A Christmas Carol this season, I am going to make it my mission in life to hound you mercilessly for the next year. And if you wish to get back into my good graces, you’ll watch at least two or three!! :D

    You’re only missing out on one of the finest, most engaging, most touching, most Christmas-y stories ever told. A true and genuine classic! And there are so many versions from which to pick!

    Patrick Stewart did a passable one a few years ago (I’d avoid the one with Henry Winkler), and the recent Disney animated version is very good. Bill Murray in Scrooged is fun alternate version (if you like Bill Murray).

    For tradition, the Reginald Owen 1938 version is a good one, but the 1951 Alastair Sim version is perhaps the defining version. That’s kind of the one to see among the older versions (IMO).

    I’ll be expecting a blog post about your first time seeing A Christmas Carol!! (Or I shall haunt you all the coming days of the year!)

    (This has been a “Ten-thousand” moment! http://xkcd.com/1053/)

    BTW: You can read the book for free: http://www.gutenberg.org/files/46/46-h/46-h.htm

Leave a Reply

