A Personal Note on Political Correctness and The Holidays

It is officially December!  And before I jump into full-on-Christmas-mode here at home, I thought I might take a moment to write a quick note about my views on the holidays.

HappyDecember

Personally – I celebrate Christmas.  And I love it!  I love the tree, I love the stockings, I love the smell of the house after you’ve been baking cookies all day, I love wrapping presents.  So, I’m gonna be honest, I’ll probably mention it a fair bit now that the holiday season had hit full force.

However, I also totally respect anyone who happily celebrates another holiday, or no holiday at all!  (Although in the latter case, I may feel kind of sorry for you, because celebrations are fun!)

At this point, it’s natural for me to say “Happy Holidays” instead of “Merry Christmas” to strangers on the street or in shops – and growing up, my step-brothers were Jewish so we had a Menorah in the house and heard the story of Hanukkah. Unfortunately, being from a pretty small and not terribly diverse town, I’ve never had the opportunity to meet anyone who celebrates Kwanzaa, Diwali, or any of the other wonderful traditions held at this time around the world.  Though I would very much like to – I actually think it would be really fun, when I grow up and have a family of my own, to pick a different tradition each year to learn about alongside our Christmas celebration.

So in the meantime, I just want you all to know, any time I talk about Christmas, it’s never my intention to make any of my readers feel left out or ignored – it’s just my favorite holiday, and I’m excited, is all!

And, with that out of the way…I’m going to go watch a holiday movie on Netflix and decorate the house in tinsel!

Happy Holidays Everyone!!

Do you celebrate Christmas?  If not, what holiday are you getting ready for this time of year?  Anyone out there celebrating more than one holiday?  What are your thoughts on being politically correct during the holiday season?

12 thoughts on “A Personal Note on Political Correctness and The Holidays

    • Christmas is the best! And I can’t believe that I didn’t respond to these comments sooner…I’m a failure…I’m going back and responding to everything I’ve neglected, so please forgive me! (Check out my post here: https://thehandwrittenlife.wordpress.com/2013/11/13/im-sorry-i-suck/ for my explanation).

      Anyways, I think that’s probably the best way to handle the situation – offer Happy Holidays when you’re uncertain, but reciprocate with Merry Christmas when it’s said to you (or when you know the person well!).

      I hope you’ve got a fun Christmas season to look forward to this year! Merry Christmas!!

  1. Great post…I started with White Christmas movie on tv yesterday! lol..weird thing was I had just posted on my blog about the movie White Christmas and then turned TV on and it was just starting! it was a ‘sign; ha ! a sign to sit down for the rest of the afternoon watching a cheesy Christmas movie and sob at the end! ha…so Happy Christmas from Wales :) x

  2. Pingback: Super Adventure Hero Person – [new track] « mostly music

  3. I celebrate Hanukkah but don’t mind at all when someone wishes me a Merry Christmas. It’s a lovely thought/sentiment and I can totally have a Merry Christmas even though I’m Jewish. ;)

  4. Unfortunately I don’t celebrate any holidays around this time of year, unless New Year’s counts? I like to observe the Christmas celebrations though; they do seem fun. :) As for political correctness, I think saying “Happy Holidays” would be more polite than any other greeting, because there will always be some people who would take offense if you wish them a Merry Christmas when they don’t celebrate it.

  5. The Winter Solstice!! A very important occasion for me; it signifies the Returning of the Light. The Sky Dragons have had their fill gorging on Sol and have moved off to a half year’s slumber. Our star, like a shorn sheep, slowly regrows his fiery mantle, and we little dust motes enjoy hot dogs and picnics once again!

    Oh, yes, very important holiday! :D

Leave a Reply

