Author Profile and Interview

A while back I was contacted by Georgina Hannan over at AuthorWorld and was asked if I would be the next author in her author profile series!  Of course, I was extremely honored by the opportunity and agreed.

Working with Georgina was great fun and a wonderful experience, and today I’m excited to share with you the results.

Check out this excerpt from our interview and be sure to stop by Georgina’s site AuthorWorld, here, to read the rest!

1.  When did you first start writing?
I’ve been writing for most of my life, actually.  I had a pretty active imagination as a child that I utilized a lot, writing stories that mostly went unfinished.  I stopped writing as much after high school, but picked it up again about 2 years ago when I had the idea for the mystery novel I’m working on currently, The Cold Case Files of Jane Cross.

2.  What drew you to writing?
I’m not really sure, maybe it was a love of stories and reading, or perhaps it was more genetic.  The arts and writing in particular have been very important in my family, and my mom really instilled those values in me.

3.  When did you know you wanted to write for children?
When I got my cats back in 2006/2007 they started giving me all sorts of inspiration.  Friends and family often encouraged me to write a book about their antics, but I didn’t have any concrete plans at the time.  When a friend joined the National Guard and left for basic training however, my cat Zooey who was particularly attached to him missed him a lot. I think that’s really what prompted me to start the series, and to write the book Zooey and Her Soldier about that experience, thinking it could be helpful to children with parents or family members in the military.

To find out more about the books, including where to buy them please visit: www.baseballandzooey.wordpress.com

Thank you again, Georgina!!

3 thoughts on “Author Profile and Interview

  1. Interesting interview…. and I love that you wrote about the cat missing a military recruit… it must be inspirational to those who’s families are touring overseas in dangerous situations…
    love this post…

  2. What a great interview, and I know you had fun doing it. It’s so inspiring to think we can call up authors, talk to them and interview them, then post it for the world to read. Journalism at its best in a way I never dreamed possible when I was taking journalism in high school. Love it.

Leave a Reply

