What I’m Watching

The Fall Television round-up continues!

Catch-Up: Pt. OnePt. TwoPt. ThreePt. Four

Photo Credit: CBS

Made In Jersey: 2 3/4 stars.  A cross between “Legally Blonde,” “Drop Dead Diva,” and “Jersey Shore” only smarter – I liked this show a lot more than I thought I would.  Martina Garetti is a first year law student from New Jersey learning the ropes as a Defense Attorney for an upscale law firm.  The cast was good, the cases were original, and overall the show felt like a fresh take on the courtroom drama.  It was even nice to see Hollywood branch out and take on a new setting, and attempt to incorporate a more varied lifestyle instead of sticking with a vague, could-be-anywhere USA,  upper middle class concept.  I was actually really hoping this show would stick around – only to be disappointed to find out that it’s already been cancelled.  Made In Jersey aired Friday nights at 9p on CBS.

Photo Credit: NBC Universal

Go On: 3 stars.  All I really have to say about this show is that I love Matthew Perry, and it’s good to see him in a show that finally seems to be getting some good ratings! Perry plays Ryan King, a sports deejay whose wife was killed in a car accident due to texting and driving.  To deal with her passing, he’s required by work to go group therapy grief counseling sessions.  Off-beat and hilarious, I like this show because it encompasses both humor and compassion – and luckily it seems to be a hit with audiences as well.  Go On airs Tuesday nights at 9p on NBC.

Photo Credit: Kharen Hill/The CW

Emily Owens, M.D.: 4 stars.  What?  Four stars right out of the gate?  I know, I’m as surprised as you are.  I’ve only seen 2 episodes of Emily Owens, M.D., and already it surpasses the rest of the new shows this season in levels of enjoyment, and quality.  Remarkably similar to the early episodes of Grey’s Anatomy – before it began to concentrate on who was sleeping with who rather than the patients – the show centers around main character Emily Owens as she begins her first year as an intern at a hospital in Denver.  For a pilot the script was quite well written and the acting was believable.  In fact, everything came together easily, which makes the show feel more established than most are able to do in the first few episodes.  I laughed, I cried, and I will definitely be tuning in next week.  Emily Owens, M.D. airs Tuesday nights at 9p on The CW.

Have you been watching Go On or Emily Owens?  What do you think?  Did you watch Made In Jersey?  Do you agree or disagree with its cancellation?

13 thoughts on “What I’m Watching

  1. Hi Andrea. I don’t watch TV but I love coming to your blog and reading your reviews. I’ll change my routine one of these days and will actually watch a TV show instead of the political shows all the time.

    • :) That is such a compliment, thank you! Do you have a favorite political show you’d recommend? I do watch the news (I was especially glued to CNN over the weekend to watch Sandy’s progress), but I don’t watch any one channel regularly enough to have a favorite program.

    • I’m actually surprised at how much I like it! If you get a chance to check it out, let me know what you think :) This last Monday was the 3rd episode, and I feel like they’re developing it well.

  2. I watched the Made in Jersey pilot, but it reminded me of Common Law on USA. At least, the lead actresses are enough alike that I made a quick impression about the show. I gave up after the pilot.

    • Ah, that makes sense actually! I haven’t seen Common Law, but it’s possible that I wouldn’t have had such a good impression of the show if I had that kind of comparison to make. Part of the reason I enjoyed it was because it felt different – but if it’s not all that unique, then it certainly loses some of it’s appeal.

  3. Yeah … I’m enjoying Perry on Go On and I actually thought about watching Emily Owens. I caught the previews and thought … well maybe … looks good. But it’s on Tuesday nights. And Tuesday is Sons of Anarchy night. Dude…SAMCRO rules in this house … well … that and Blake Shelton. So I’ve been watching The Voice, too.

    • Blake Shelton is why I watch The Voice too! I mean, Adam Levine is okay and everything, but really, you can’t even compare the two :P

      Tuesday night really seems to be the TV night – everything is on!! Emily Owens really is good though. But Sons of Anarchy is still at the top of my list of shows to start, once I’m finally caught up with things!

  4. Funny, I liked Made in Jersey more than I expected to as well. Might, in part, be an affinity for New York and environs — I was born in Manhattan.

    We’ve chatted about Go On before… I’m still really liking it, too!
    http://logosconcarne.com/2012/10/10/nbc-got-it-going-on/

    Haven’t seen your third one. I think I’m off medical shows unless they’re something beyond the mainstream genre. Last ones I loved were Scrubs and House, M.D.. Really hard acts to follow!

    • I have a feeling the show might have gotten a bigger following if they hadn’t cancelled it so fast!

      Haha, I’m pretty opposite you when it comes to medical shows though :P I was a big fan of Grey’s Anatomy for the first few seasons, and even though it’s definitely gone downhill, it’s still probably one of my favorite shows. For some reason I just never got into House, M.D! And it took me a while to enjoy Scrubs as well. At first it just felt a little too silly! But I had an ex who really enjoyed it, and after watching the show from the beginning it grew on me :) My favorite episodes were still the more serious ones though.

      • Scrubs was definitely different! It often got surreal, so it’s not going to be everyone’s cup of tea. It’s a bit like Community that way. (Funny thing about Scrubs: apparently some who work in hospitals have said that in some ways it’s the most realistic medical show of them all!)

        For my money, a mark of excellence in a surreal show is its ability to connect with you emotionally despite the zaniness of the context. What made Scrubs such a good show is that it was good at doing that. Strong human moments wrapped in some pretty off-beat storytelling; that takes skill!

Leave a Reply

