Happy Giveaway Day!

That’s right, the time has finally come!  Happy Giveaway Day, everyone!

As I hinted at last week, I got this basket:

and stuffed it chock-full with Fall themed goodies for you to win!  And now, it looks a lot more like this:

So, what’s up for grabs?  A couple of fall candles, a cookbook full of delicious recipes, a little metal turkey, a pumpkin shaped napkin holder, and a few other fun little odds and ends I couldn’t help but throw in there.  Plus, there will be a surprise item not pictured here!  Just because I think there should always be a surprise.

Now to the really important stuff – like how do you win it??

To enter to win my very first fall themed giveaway, all you have to do is respond to this post with a comment telling me what your favorite thing about fall is.  It can be a favorite memory, a story, a tradition, a food – whatever it is, let me know!  If you are unable to comment, you can send your entry with the subject “Giveaway Entry” to aktheauthor@gmail.com.  Either way, please be sure I have an email address so I can contact you if you’re the winner.

I will read over all of the entries (with Baseball and Zooey’s help, of course) and we’ll choose the best! The winner will be announced November 1st.

The giveaway starts today, October 24th, and will be closed to entries on October 31st at 11:59pm (pacific time) – one entry per person.

So tell me, what’s your favorite thing about Fall?

23 thoughts on “Happy Giveaway Day!

  1. “My Favourite Thing About Fall”

    Students arrive,
    shiny new clothes
    and some old favorites.

    Grunting acknowledgements of
    Summer’s demise.
    (hint of a smile,
    while greeting friends).

    Standing at the door,
    ….ME….
    I missed you, I say.
    Ducked heads,
    lifted shoulders.

    Finding their own spot,
    in the classroom
    on the playground
    with their social media.

    I like watching it all,
    helping when I can.
    So, I welcome (and love)
    the new school year,
    each Fall.

  2. My favorite thing about fall is being able to go running and the air being warm enough but still have cool undertones to it which provide a perfect breeze!

    • That sounds fantastic! Yes, fall is great for working outdoors (as long is it’s not too rainy!), it really is the perfect temperature. I hate getting all sweaty and overly-warm from activities in the summer :P

  3. Pumpkins are my favourite thing about fall. And that is really saying something because I love all thingss fall. I love pumpkins as decoration, pumpkins as pumpkin pie, pumpkins as jack o’lanterns, pumpkin seeds, pumpkin ornaments, the Great Pumpkin (whose roosts in my back garden), pumpkins as other characters, such as the year I made them into Bert and Ernie for my five year old son. In short, I love pumpkins.

    • I love them too! Pumpkins are the best! It sounds like you do have a pretty sincere pumpkin patch…I didn’t plant one in my backyard this year so I don’t think the Great Pumpkin will come visit me :(

  4. Well, there’s my birthday! And apples and apple cider and snuggling down under the blankets and cooking soup and baking bread and warm cozy smells and sweaters and the wonderful sound of crunching the red and orange and yellow and brown leaves and the Canada geese in their V formations and hot cocoa and marshmallows and…

    Music.

    When I see and hear the geese, I play this song, “Urge for Going”, and know it is time to put in the storm doors and ready the house for winter.

    And when I’m finished I listen to “When Fall Comes To New England” to remember why I don’t ever actually leave.

  5. Mother’Love is a favorite one (fall-in) of all on the earth.

    • It is said that – God could not be visible everywhere in the world, that’s why he created mother. Love mother the most
    beautiful person on this Earth.
    Best Critic, yet our strongest supporter.

    A MOTHER’S LOVE

    A Mother’s love is something
    that no one can explain,
    It is made of deep devotion
    and of sacrifice and pain,
    It is endless and unselfish
    and enduring come what may
    For nothing can destroy it
    or take that love away . . .
    It is patient and forgiving
    when all others are forsaking,
    And it never fails or falters
    even though the heart is breaking . . .
    It believes beyond believing
    when the world around condemns,
    And it glows with all the beauty
    of the rarest, brightest gems . . .
    It is far beyond defining,
    it defies all explanation,
    And it still remains a secret
    like the mysteries of creation . . .
    A many splendor miracle
    man cannot understand
    And another wondrous evidence
    of God’s tender guiding hand.

  6. I love all of the seasons, but fall is especially beautiful to me. I adore the changing colors of the leaves…the brilliant orange, red and yellows ~ like flames on the trees. I love the crispness in the air and the happy anticipation of newness when school begins again! As a former teacher I always felt a sense of newness ~ new students, new books, new supplies ~ a renewed sense of purpose came with the fall. I love the cool weather that is heralded with this season ~ not too cold, not too warm, just right!
    Thanks for the opportunity to share how I feel! Happy Fall to YOU! xo

    • Oooh, yes, I couldn’t agree more – fall really does bring a sense of newness to things. And I always loved getting school supplies, it’s one thing I really miss about not being in school anymore! Thank you! xo

Leave a Reply

