Sunday Songbird

A little personal nostalgia for this week’s Sunday Songbird…though I’m not usually a fan of this type of music, The Postal Service spoke to me at a time in my life when nothing else did.  Their album “Give Up” got me through some of my worst years in high school.

SundaySongbird

“I want so badly to believe that ‘there is truth, that love is real,’
And I want life in every word to the extent that it’s absurd…”
Clark Gable – The Postal Service


 

“I’ll be the phonograph that plays your favorite albums back,
As you’re lying there, drifting off to sleep…
I’ll be the platform shoes, undo what heredity’s done to you,
You won’t have to strain, to look into my eyes,
I’ll be your winter coat buttoned and zipped straight to the throat,
With the collar up, so you won’t catch cold…”
Brand New Colony – The Postal Service


 

” – ‘Tell me am I right to think that there could be nothing better,
Than making you my bride and slowly growing old together?’
 – ‘Don’t you feed me lines about some idealistic future,
Your heart won’t heal right if you keep tearing out the sutures…'”
Nothing Better – The Postal Service

Leave a Reply

