It’s Morning Somewhere…

For the past few months, something strange has occurred.  I have – entirely on accident,  and without any understanding as to how or why it happened – become nocturnal.

I have always been a night owl – no matter how tired I had been all day, night would hit, and I would wake right up.  To this day I’m the only person I have ever heard of that wasn’t allowed to take naps as a child, my mom actually struggled to find a day care that didn’t require them.  By the time I reached my school years, I had mostly learned how to succeed as a night person in a morning person’s world (meaning: I learned to function on little-to-no sleep, although as a teenager I didn’t always do it happily), at least during the summer I could sleep all day!

Yes, normally being a night person never really bothered me.  In fact, there were times when I wore it as a badge of pride.  Sleep over in middle school? – “I bet you I can stay up the latest!!” – etc.  And really, there is something nice about being awake when everyone else is asleep.  It’s so peaceful, for some reason the quiet is different than quiet during the day.  It’s a thoughtful kind of quiet, the kind of quiet that lends itself to bursts of creativity, epiphanies on life and love, an understanding of things you can’t quite grasp during the hustle and bustle of the daytime hours, when everyone else’s thoughts and wants and needs jostle shoulder-to-shoulder with yours.

“I often think that the night is more alive
and more richly colored than the day.”

-Vincent van Gogh

But now that I have become full blown nocturnal, things have become more difficult. The novelty of the insomnia has worn off.  These days, I don’t even start to get tired until around 5am…Let me tell you, when you don’t wake up until 2pm on a Sunday, it’s virtually impossible to get anywhere before they close.

And, although I love a clean house, running the garbage disposal and vacuuming at 3am just won’t work if I plan to live with anyone else, ever again.  At least the cats don’t seem to mind.

Now I know what you’re thinking.  At this point, I should just stay up all night, or wake myself up really early regardless, so the sleep deprivation will force me to conk out at a normal time.  Tried it!  Apparently I’ve learned to turn off my alarm clock in my sleep without waking up – and staying up all night just leads to even more exhaustion, since no matter how tired I am I wake up once night falls!

I’ve tried melatonin, over the counter sleep aids, and…well, you name it.  I’ve pretty much tried it all.   But the fact that I’m awake at 1am typing up and scheduling the rest of my posts for this week is a pretty good indicator that nothing has worked so far!

However, after doing some research, I’ve decided maybe being nocturnal’s not such a bad thing.  I mean, I’m in good company – Jodi Ambrose is a night owl, and I’ve discovered we’re not the only ones – in fact, it seems like the majority of bloggers I follow do their writing at night.  Not to toot our horns or anything, but it does seem to be pretty good evidence that us night owls tend to be more creative and more intelligent ;)  Apparently, naturally nocturnal people, though more tired during the morning, are actually better at completing tasks throughout the day than morning people who need more rest.

Oh, and all of that stuff you morning folks accomplish before breakfast?  Don’t worry, we finished all of that before we went to bed…the previous night!

Yes, I guess being nocturnal has its perks after all!  So instead of continuing to try and fight it, I think it’s about time I started to roll with this whole night owl thing, and see where it takes me.  After all, it’s morning somewhere, right??

Are you a night owl or a morning lark?  How has this affected your day-to-day (or night-to-night!) life?

28 thoughts on “It’s Morning Somewhere…

  1. We know about me and my insomnia. lol I have always loved the night. Unfortunately, my daughter has inherited this and is currently battling it while at college. Yeah….she is way upside down and my guess is they don’t offer night, NIGHT classes. I think this may be somewhat hereditary as my father is nocturnal and so is my brother. He has found that he can only have jobs where he works the night shift because nothing wakes him up. Not even us waking him, gets him going.

    • I think it’s hereditary too! My mom was a night owl for most of her life, she and I would always be the last ones awake after my stepdad and older brothers went to sleep :P
      I guess it’s a good thing though, right? We need night people, and people who enjoy working late shifts!

      • Exactly. I actually liked working graveyards when I worked for the Sheriff’s Office. That and swing shift. My kids didn’t like it though. What do you do?

      • I used to go to school and work as a barista at a coffee stand, but unfortunately Lyme disease interfered and I had to quit both. At the moment I’m working for both of my parents, which is nice because I get a little bit of leeway!

        My stepdad is an attorney, so I’m basically an office assistant – organizing, filing etc. And my mom is an interior designer, right now we’re working on developing a line of organic cotton baby bedding, so lots of networking on the internet, taking promo shots, etc :)

  2. Good post and you’re absolutely right … “the quiet is different than quiet during the day …” I love that … that’s great. I thought I was the only one who thought the quiet is different. No wonder I see you around late at night I’m a night owl myself but not a 5 a.m. one I got to wake up at 7 a.m. I don’t have to, but my kids make sure I do.

  3. Until very recently, I have been a lifelong early worm. The last six months or so, I can barely crawl out of bed. “Just five more minutes, please?”

    • I wonder what causes our sleep schedules to shift? (Other than when we mess it up by doing something ridiculous by staying up all night of course).

      I have to admit I’m a little jealous of people who have been early worms. Even though I like staying up late, I feel like getting up early would make it so much easier to live in the real world :P Plus, if you wake up early enough, it’s still quiet and peaceful!

  4. We are so aligned on this. My ex- used to say I had vampire blood; maybe you do, to! I have to be careful on weekends I don’t slip into a night/day schedule, ’cause that really messes me up Monday morning. I realized long ago that I can go almost indefinitely on five hours sleep a day, although eventually it catches up with me and I need a good 10-hour crash, but as the saying goes, “Plenty of time to sleep after you’re dead!”

    There’s something about being out and about at 3 AM… it’s like with all those other minds asleep, the “mental field” is much more still, and your mind has more room to think.

  5. I’m a night owl… sort of. I admit I used to be better at staying up the whole night without feeling the slightest of bits tired, but ever since I started working full-time, I felt I had to alter my schedule so I can wake up in the ungodly hours of the morning. =[ I like night time; it’s, as you said, pretty peaceful and I can get a lot of work during it!

    Oh, and by the way, my mother wouldn’t allow me to take naps as a kid either!

  6. I will wake a 4 am no matter what time I go to bed… and like you there is many a night I will pull an all nighter without any sleep till the following evening… but it seems to have no effect on me and I just go with the flow and don’t worry myself about it…

    • I’m usually still up around 4am – there’s just something about that time of day, isn’t there??

      You’re right, I think the key is to just go with the flow and not worry about it. I’m trying to embrace it more, though days I have appointments are a bit difficult :P

  7. I have always been a night owl. Taking care of my grandfather, who normally is a morning person, has made me a bit of a 24hr non-stop person. Embrace the inner night owl, we are a fun and productive group of people.

      • Sad and true! Good luck transitioning to a night/24-hour person. Just remember naps, I used to hate them, will become your best friend. Relax often and be amazed at all that you can accomplish with the night on your side!

  8. I have always been a morning person..the problem is – as I get older I am turning into a night owl but still have the need to get up early to enjoy the start of the day. So naps have become part of my routine. It seems to be working for now anyway… :)

    • You’re just on a more continental schedule than the rest of us! ;) Nothing wrong with a siesta!

      Isn’t it interesting how our sleep schedules can vary over our lifetimes? I wonder why that happens.

  9. What a wonderful post! Yes I’d have to agree that we are in good company. Back in May I wrote about my night owl behaviour in a post titled INSOMNIA and I discovered that many creative and productive people have been insomniacs. I also included a poem by Robert Frost if you’d like to see it. http://professionsforpeace.com/2012/05/14/insomnia/ Not to be presumptuous, but just if you’d like to see what I discovered about us night owls :) I love your writing and your choice of artwork and the van Gogh quote is perfect. Thank you for helping me remember that there are others like me, awake when it seems the whole world is sleeping. Cheers, Gina

  10. It’s funny. I’m a night owl who likes to get stuff done in the morning. (Yeah, it doesn’t make any sense to me either but it’s true. lol) I blame it on my parents. When my mother was working, she would wake up really early, take her time and then go to work. My father is a night time person. As a musician, he enjoys staying out pretty late and then sleeping more so during the day. So it’s genetic. I do manage to get at least 5-6 hours of sleep daily. And then sometimes, I get so tired, my body just says it’s time to sleep and I’ll just crash for more than 10 hours. It doesn’t happen often but when it does, it’s wonderful. lol Anyway, that’s my little crazy story with time.

    • I actually kind of understand this! Even though I’m often very tired in the morning, I would much rather get up and go to work/school and get it done and out of the way! Partially because otherwise I would sleep the day away and not have enough time to do everything I wanted, and partially because I really enjoy using the nighttime hours for me-time…writing, doing things I enjoy etc.

      There must be something really must be hereditary about it! You got both ends…but it sounds like you’ve gotten pretty good at keeping a balanced schedule anyways :) 5-6 hours isn’t too bad, especially if you get some weekends every once in a while to sleep in!

      • True. Weekends are my lazy time for the most part where I just lounge around and do nothing much. However, I have those spurts of social activity. My social life is a whole other thing too… again, it’s hereditary. lol

      • Haha, I know what you mean! We’re quirky little creatures…a lot of people manage to stifle that with super rigid routines, but I think some of us manage do it a little differently :)

  11. Pingback: Waking Up Earlier (For Lazy People and Night Owls) «

Leave a Reply

