What I’m Watching

As I mentioned in my last What I’m Watching post, I’m trying to keep up with a ridiculous number of television shows at the moment.  Because I was a cinema studies major in my school years, movies and television have always held a certain level of fascination for me.  I usually try to give each new show that’s premiered in the Fall at least a few episodes to see what they’re about and determine whether or not they’re something I want to watch.  (The only exception I’ve made this season has been to cross Last Resort off my list before the first episode even premiered – after an old friend enlisted in the service, I discovered myself avoiding pretty much anything military related).

So, I’m going to pick up where I left off last time, and do another quick run-down on a few of the new shows.  I’ll be sure to keep you posted on which ones I enjoy enough to stick with, and which ones I give up on, in a follow-up post a little later!

Photo Credit: CBS

Partners: 2 1/2 Stars.  So far Partners is…cute. With potential.  Centered around childhood friends who form a business partnership at an architecture firm, it’s got a good cast, and was created by the same people who were responsible for Will & Grace, so that on its own is reason enough to tune in.  At this point it really does just feel like your basic comedy starting out – a little rough, but enough laughs to ensure I’ll catch it again and see where it goes. I’m going to have to wait and see how the characters develop a bit more, but I’d say of all of the shows I’m watching this is the one I wanted to like the most, before I even saw it, so I probably have the highest expectations for it.  We’ll see if that’s a good or bad thing!  Partners airs on Monday nights at 8:30p on CBS.

Photo Credit: NBC/Universal

The New Normal: 3 Stars.  At this point, The New Normal is tied with The Neighbors for my favorite new comedy.  This surprised me, because I hadn’t heard very much about it before watching it, and well, the first half of the first episode threw me off a little bit.  The thoughts, “Hmm…I don’t know about this…” even crossed my mind.  And then something happened, it just became…adorable.  Based around a down-on-her-luck single mom who decides to change her life by becoming a surrogate for a gay couple, all of the characters are endearing. The girl who plays Shania is quite honestly the best thing ever. I have high hopes for this one!  The New Normal airs on Tuesday nights at 9:30p on NBC.

Photo Credit: ABC/BOB D’AMICO

The Neighbors: 3 Stars.  I wasn’t really sure what to think about this show at first, it looked a little strange, and the alien theme seemed a little done-before (Mork and Mindy, ALF, 3rd Rock From the Sun), but they’ve really managed to make The Neighbors stand on its own.  I loved Jamie Gertz in Still Standing (one of my favorite shows), so I was excited to see her on tv again!  And the kid who plays Dick Butkis is fantastic!  It’s not as cute as The New Normal, so I’m not gushing over it quite as much, but overall, I really like this show. It’s fun, and different, and I hope it sticks around.  The Neighbors airs on Wednesday nights at 8:30p on NBC.

Have you been watching Partners, The New Normal, or The Neighbors?  What do you think?

6 thoughts on “What I’m Watching

  1. I was waiting for one of your TV posts, wanted to see what you and your Zenith were doing. I bet you’re going wild with all the season premieres. You know the DVR is full at my house and I need to do some serious catch up. But I am checking out new shows. I have dropped in to see the New Normal and yeah, I’m enjoying it so far.

    • Haha, I’m really glad to hear you enjoy these posts! I can’t help myself, I AM drowning in new shows so far :) It’s definitely hard to keep up with everything though and I got a little behind this last week. Gotta love DVRs!!
      Glad to hear you’re enjoying The New Normal as well. I really can’t get enough of the daughter. The episode (I think it’s the 2nd) where she goes all Grey Gardens was great! Lol.

    • OH my gosh, I totally forgot that she was in The Lost Boys!! Haha, yep, she reappeared for this show anyways :) I haven’t seen her in several years since Still Standing ended, but I’ve always liked her, for some reason.

Leave a Reply

