Quoted

On my last Quoted post I received a comment from Chuck Huss who said, “I find great quotes in song lyrics.”

I loved that he said this, because I couldn’t agree more. Song lyrics are a fantastic source of quotes, and as I said in my response to him, they often feel like poetry set to music.

His words came to mind once again the other day as I listened to an album I had purchased recently, by the band Mumford & Sons. They are by far one of the most amazingly talented groups to take the stage in the past few years – and it’s not just their musical ability that stands out (which it does in spades thanks to their beautiful harmonies and use of the banjo)!  Their lyrics are always rife with honesty, loss, love, and a faith that rises above it all. So, for today’s post, I hope you’ll indulge me while I share with you some of my favorite lyrics from their sophomore album Babel!

Photo Credit: Mumfordandsons.com

“I ain’t ever lived a year better spent in love.”
-Babel-

“Press my nose up to the glass around your heart,
I should’ve known I was weaker from the start.
You’ll build your walls and I will play my bloody part, to tear, tear them down.”
-Babel-

“And I still believe, though there’s cracks you’ll see,
when I’m on my knees I’ll still believe.

And when I’ve hit the ground, neither lost nor found,
if you’ll believe in me, I’ll still believe.”

-Holland Road-

“And the ghosts that we knew will flicker from view, and we’ll live a long life.”
-Ghosts That We Knew-

“And in the middle of the night I may watch you go.
There’ll be no value in the strength of walls that I’ll have grown, 
there’ll be no comfort in the shade of the shadows thrown.
You may not trust the promises of the change I’ll show,
But I’d be yours if you’d be mine.”
-Lover of The Light-

“So I watched the world tear us apart,
A stoic mind and a bleeding heart.”
-Reminder-

“And I will learn to love the skies I’m under.”
-Hopeless Wanderer-

“But oh, my heart was flawed, I knew my weakness.
So hold my hand, consign me not to darkness.”
-Broken Crown-

“Let me learn from where I have been.
Keep my eyes to serve, my hands to learn.”
-Below My Feet-

“Do not let my fickle flesh go to waste,
As it helps my heart and soul in its place.
And I will love with urgency, but not with haste.”
-Not With Haste-

“Whispered notes from the piano in the corner of the room.
Hold your throat, is that healing that you’re hearing in her tune?
Wanting change but loving her just as she lies,
is the burden of a man who’s built his life on love.”
-For Those Below-


Which artists or songs do you enjoy for their quotable lyrics?

10 thoughts on “Quoted

  1. From a lyrical point of view, I’ve always seen music in two categories: songs that are celebrations of some kind (one can even, in a sense, “celebrate” being lonely or in pain) and songs that are (as said above) poetry set to music. (In fact, I think of rap as being mostly poetry.) And the two categories can certainly overlap; celebrations can be poetry.

    Little Feat is a band that, to me, writes mostly celebratory tunes. You recently posted a blog about Simon & Garfunkel, who I think usually write poetry (Paul Rhymin’ Simon is the poet behind S&G, and his work ever since has been mostly poetic).

    Earlier this week, I posted an article about David Gray, whom I think is an amazing poet. I’m a big fan of his work. Other poets I’ve liked: Joni Mitchell, Neil Diamond (at times), Bruce Springsteen (of course), Melissa Etheridge, Jackson Brown, Bruce Cockburn, Peter Gabriel, Alanis Morissette, Roger Waters, Sheryl Crow and even Jimmy Buffett (his total body of work is so much more than just Margaritaville).

    • I have never thought of music that way before, but now that you point it out, I agree! It really does seem like songs do fall into those kinds of categories.

      David Gray is a fantastic poet, I fell in love with his music in high school – This Year’s Love, Be Mine, Babylon, The One I Love…

      I love your list of poets, I couldn’t agree more!! Especially with Joni Mitchell, Bruce Springsteen, Jackson Brown, and Peter Gabriel :) But really, I could go on and on…lol

Leave a Reply

