Why I Don’t Have a Boyfriend (Pt. 4)

Catch Up: Part One, Part Two, Part Three

If you were to turn on my tv right now, what channel do you think it would be on?

.

Did you guess The Disney Channel?  No?  Because that’s the right answer!

Why, yes, I did just turn 25 a month ago.  And, no, I don’t have any kids…

This is why I don’t have a boyfriend.

BUT, seriously? Can I just tell you how much I love The Suite Life of Zack and Cody? Because I do.

Okay, so it’s not as good now that they’re on the cruise ship instead of in the hotel, but still – those kids crack me up and I have no idea why.  My roommate and I once had to live in a hotel for a little over a month because our neighbor crashed his car into our house (I’ll have to tell the whole story in a separate post sometime) – we called it “The Suite Life of Andrea and Lexie” and sang the theme song in the elevator while we moved everything in using laundry baskets.  Yes, this was one of the highlights of my life. No, I’m not joking.

Then there’s Good Luck Charlie.  And Wizards of Waverly Place.  And My Babysitter’s a Vampire.

I watched That’s So Raven and Cory in The House even though I hated them, and even got into Hannah Montana and Jonas when they were on – trust me when I say I do not like Miley Cyrus in real life (although Kevin Jonas is adorably funny).  Life with Derek actually featured *gasp* divorced parents!  I really enjoyed seeing the issue of blended families tackled for once in a kid’s show, especially since I grew up with stepbrothers…plus it was just plain funny.

My favorite, however, is a show from 2004 called Phil of The Future…Which was about a family from the future that gets stuck back in time when their time machine breaks, and they have to learn to fit in.  This show is a-dor-a-ble.

Oh! And not to mention Lizzie McGuire and Even Stevens – which are by far the best of the lot – and the only ones I have a legitimate reason for liking, as I actually watched them when I was the correct age :P

Photo Credit: The Disney Channel/ABC

So there you have it – my latest confession!  My name is Andrea Kelly, I’m 25 years old, and I watch The Disney Channel. And this is why I don’t have a boyfriend…But you know what? I’m enjoying every second of my single, Disney Channel days, because if I did have a boyfriend, I’d probably be stuck watching something about guys who cut down trees or drive trucks on icy roads instead.

“So, let me get this straight, it’s a show, about guys, driving trucks across icy roads…?”
“Well there’s a lot more to it than that.” – Mike and Molly


Why are you still single?

12 thoughts on “Why I Don’t Have a Boyfriend (Pt. 4)

  1. Andrea, I am about a zillion years older than you, but I understand the draw of the Disney Channel and I watch it sometimes and I am married and I walk out of the room when all that ice truck, car auction, war stuff is on. There is such a sweetness and innocence to those shows that it is no wonder we like to harken back to simpler, quirkier and magical times.

    • :) I’m glad I’m not the only one! And I hadn’t thought of it before, but I totally agree, it really is refreshing to watch things that encourage positivity and imagination with all the other garbage that’s floating around out there!

  2. LOL. Too funny.. Don’t worry. Although I do have kids after I put them to bed guess what usually stays on TV?? You guessed it – Disney Channel

    • Oh me too, me too! I drove my old roommate bonkers – “What are you doing?? That’s not how you clean that!!” hahaha. Luckily we were friends first so she put up with me, for some reason :P

Leave a Reply

