31 Movies for October

Happy October Everyone!

Like many people in the United States, one of my favorite things about October is Halloween. Okay, well, that’s not entirely true.  I guess you could say I have a love/hate relationship with Halloween – I love decorating the house and passing out candy to trick-or-treaters…I hate going to parties where everyone is trashed – instead, I’m more likely to be found curled up on the couch watching one of my favorite Halloween movies.

So, because I’m about to break out the Halloween decorations and find something creepy to watch on Netflix, I decided today would be a good day to share with you some of my favorite Halloweeny/scary/Octobery movies!

31 Movies for the Month of October:
(In no particular order)

What Lies Beneath

Wait Until Dark

Ghost Story

Rear Window

Psycho

Alien

The Faculty

Thir13en Ghosts

The Shining

Jennifer Eight

Stir of Echoes

Children of The Corn

The Evil Dead

Gothika

The Cabin in The Woods

The Fourth Kind

The Mothman Prophecies

The Sixth Sense

+++++++++++++++++Practical Magic

Halloweentown/Halloweentown 2: Kalabar’s Revenge/
Halloweentown High/Return to Halloweentown

Hocus Pocus

The Witches of Eastwick

The Nightmare Before Christmas

Under Wraps

Twitches/Twitches Too

It’s The Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown

Garfield in Disguise


What are some of your favorite movies to watch this time of year?

16 thoughts on “31 Movies for October

    • I don’t know why, but I’ve always liked a good scary movie! Perhaps it’s because I’m not really a thrill seeker in real life…My only exception really, are movies that are excessively gory – those I’m not a fan of!

      But I’m glad I could give you a heads up on some movies to avoid? ;)

  1. Great list!!

    While not a huge fan of scary movies, I do enjoy many of the sub-genres. I especially like science fiction scary: Pitch Black, Event Horizon and Dreamcatcher are among my favorites there (and, of course, Aliens). Gothika was outstanding!

    Not real big on monster movies or slasher movies; they just don’t do much for me unless there’s a little something extra (like comedy or sci fi). Slasher movies, in particular, don’t grab me much (although the Scream and Scary Movies series were fun). And I loved The Faculty (in part, I confess, due to Jordana Brewster)!

    I do love a good ghost story, though! You have a few of my favorites: What Lies Beneath creeped me out. He was a surprisingly good bad guy! I also really loved The Mothman Prophecies! And the original 13 Ghosts terrified me as a young child! (The Sixth Sense is on my all-time favorite movie list!)

    A couple great ghost movies: The Ring and Ju-on (the original Japanese movie that was remade as The Grudge, which was also good). Both of those raised hairs on the back of my neck (especially Ju-on, which I think would get my top vote for creeped my out). Oh, and Silent Hill was pretty creepy!

    I’d file Witches of Eastwick and Hocus Pocus as comedies (same with Beetlejuice). Same with a few others mentioned. (Nothing wrong with a scary comedy! As I said, a little something extra!!)

    What’s the one with Donald Southerland that takes place in Venice. The midget in the red cloak. That’s another one that terrified me as a kid.

    • Dreamcatcher is a great movie! I agree, I really enjoy science-fiction scary as well – it’s kind of the ultimate scary because it really engages your imagination throughout the whole movie, and usually manages to maintain an air of suspense!

      I would say The Faculty is really one of the only movies I like from the “Slasher” genre (more because of Josh Hartnett though :P). In general it’s not really my thing either, since I’m not a very big fan of gore…And, I have a confession to make…I haven’t seen Scream!! It was one of those movies that everyone watched before I did, somehow, and then no one wanted to see it again lol. I’m determined to watch it this year, actually!

      Silent Hill is on my list as well – I’m glad to hear it was creepy. The Ring and The Grudge were really good, although I still want to watch the original versions, because I heard they were even scarier :)

      Oh, and I googled the Donald Sutherland one you mentioned and I think it’s called, Don’t Look Now? I haven’t seen that either…So thank you for the awesome comment and the recommendations, I’ve got a few more movies for my list now! Yay!

    • Linus is freaking awesome. Seriously. Although I love the whole gang, something about a Charlie Brown movie just makes it feel like a holiday!

      Yeah, I’m not usually a big fan of anything that’s really gory, but I do like suspense, and mind-bending movies like The Sixth Sense (seriously a classic)! :)

    • I’m a pretty big fan of the classic scary movies, because they tend to be more suspenseful and less gory!

      I think Witches of Eastwick and Hocus Pocus are my two favorites on the list as well :) Fantastic casts!!

Leave a Reply

