Sunday Songbird

SundaySongbird

“In the clearing stands a boxer 
And a fighter by his trade 
And he carries the reminders 
Of every glove that laid him down 
Or cut him till he cried out 
In his anger and his shame 
‘I am leaving, I am leaving’ 
But the fighter still remains”
The Boxer – Simon and Garfunkel

 

“Hello darkness, my old friend
I’ve come to talk with you again
Because a vision softly creeping
Left its seeds while I was sleeping
And the vision that was planted in my brain
Still remains
Within the sound of silence”
The Sounds of Silence – Simon and Garfunkel

10 thoughts on “Sunday Songbird

  1. My very first exposure to “rock” was when someone in our church got my (Lutheran pastor) dad into S&G. Until then it was mostly church music and classical for me, so they’ve always held a very special place in my heart. Got the song books for all the albums, and I used to be able to play Sounds of Silence and Bridge Over Troubled Water (two of my favorites) and others on the piano.

    To this day I’m still a pretty big Paul Simon fan!

    “Slow down, you move too fast. You gotta make the morning last!”

      • In fact, he took the whole family to see one of their concerts way back when. Horrible seats, third balcony, I believe, they “looked like ants”, but it was still fun. First modern music concert I ever went to.

      • Oh wow! What a fantastic memory! That’s the thing great about concerts – the atmosphere and just being there with everyone makes it a great experience even if you can’t see anything worth while :P

    • That is such a coincidence! I love it when things like that happen :) I’m glad you enjoyed the post. Thanks Russ!
      Andrea

Leave a Reply

