What I’m Watching

Ahh Fall – there’s nothing like it. Curling up in your pjs on the couch with a cup of hot cocoa or tea, a cat in your lap, some knitting, and Fall television premieres!

So, what will I be watching this Fall? A lot of things!

Why are there no shows on Saturday??

Thank goodness for On-Demand. I’d never be able to keep up with everything otherwise, there are some time slots that are triple booked.

Many of these shows will get crossed off the list over the course of the season – either because they’ve been cancelled, or I’ve just lost interest – but I like to give all of the new premieres at least a couple of weeks to grow on me. It seems like it takes a while, even on the best shows, for the writing and characters to really settle into something that works.

Here’s a quick run-down on two of the shows that have already premiered. If I end up liking them, you may find a more complete update in a few weeks time.

Photo Credit: Fox

The Mob Doctor:  So far I’d give this show about 2 1/2 out of 5 stars. The first episode starts in the middle of the action, and there are very few flashbacks to let you know what’s going on. I’m sure there will be more to come in future episodes, but it was still a little confusing. I honestly I had to stop for a second to check and make sure I was watching the pilot. Because it starts in the middle, the plot feels very accelerated, I have a hard time seeing how they’re going to stretch the show out into multiple seasons if this is their starting point (trying to avoid spoilers here). I’m just not sure if they’re going to have enough varied and interesting plot lines to make it go anywhere from here. It also seems like they’ve made their effort to be hard-hitting a little too obvious. But like I said, we’ll see – this show really took the “jump into the deep end” route of getting into the pool, and since it was only the first episode, the water was still a little cold. Will it warm up, or fizzle out? Only time will tell, though if the writing is done correctly, I can see myself enjoying this show more than Revolution. The Mob Doctor airs Monday nights at 9/8c on Fox.

Photo Credit: NBC

Revolution: Once again, the plotline for the pilot episode seemed a little too accelerated. Did anyone else think they got to Chicago a little too fast, and without much effort? With how fast they cut new shows – barely giving them a chance to attract viewers – I can understand that writers and producers find it important to cram as much interesting information into the first couple episodes as possible, however, I think this might actually back-fire in a lot of cases (of course, that’s a whole ‘nother post!). Revolution did do a better job of giving enough back story that you know what’s going on – but they definitely left a lot of unanswered questions as well! The biggest one being…why did everything stop? Even batteries don’t work – that one I still can’t quite wrap my brain around. So far, I give this show 3 out of 5 stars, though I have a feeling the novelty might wear off (it seems like a cross of the failed TerraNova, Lost, and The Walking Dead so far). Revolution airs Monday nights at 10/9c on NBC.

Overall: I’d be surprised if either one of these shows makes it past two seasons, although my guess is it will probably be more like one.

Have you seen The Mob Doctor or Revolution? What were your thoughts?

2 thoughts on “What I’m Watching

Leave a Reply

