Knitting and Snuggles

One very important thing I left off of my Fall Forward! list the other day, was how much I look forward to knitting! Because I’ve really only learned how to do scarves and blankets at this point, I have basically reserved it for a fall activity for now.

However, this year I’ve decided to finally learn how to do some more knit stitches! So maybe by next year I’ll be ready to branch out into something new – like hats? Just a thought…We’ll see how this year goes ;)

The thing I hate the most about learning how to knit, is that, well, you mess up a lot, and whatever you make turns out looking like an odd lump with lots of holes in it. At least that’s what happens to me! So I never like to learn a new stitch and a new project at the same time. Luckily, I have some leftover yarn from old projects, including some colors that don’t work for anything I want to do because they were purchased for other people, so I decided to use those to make some practice squares, first.

Then another thought occurred to me. I could turn my practice squares into Snuggles! What are Snuggles, you ask?

Well! Snuggles are small knit blankets made for shelter animals. These animals are often very scared, and have trouble attaching to humans because they’ve either been abused, or just been on their own too long without any contact. Snuggles are a soft friend they can cuddle with, that helps soothe them/calm them down when they’re stressed. Not only that, but once the animal bonds with their Snuggle, it’s much easier for them to learn how to bond with people and other animals! It also makes their transition from shelter to home easier once they are adopted, because they have something familiar and comforting to go along with them. Snuggles are so helpful, that many shelters have started requesting them! Click here to see if your local shelter is on the list.

Animals do so much for their human friends when given the chance. We have all heard the stories of heroism, and anyone who’s owned a pet knows how much love they give. I think it’s important that we find a way to help these animals in whatever way we can – after all, it’s our carelessness that has created an overpopulation issue with pets, and our cruelty that has landed them in the streets.

While I certainly can’t adopt every animal that’s in a shelter, or even spare that much change for donations – I can knit! (Kind of…)

Recommended Snuggle Sizes:

14” x 14” for cats and small animals
24” x 24” for cats and small to medium dogs
36” x 36” for medium to large dogs

Are you interested in making some Snuggles?? Check out this website for more information. What do you do with your practice pieces? Happy knitting!

7 thoughts on “Knitting and Snuggles

    • :) Thank you so much, Russ! I love finding ways to incorporate giving back into hobbies – something you know about as well! It really does make them all the more fulfilling, and stands as a great reminder that one person really can do things to help create change!

Leave a Reply

