Fall Forward!

Happy Autumn Everyone!

Photo Credit: solarpowerpanels.ws

I know that technically it’s “Fall Back” but for those of you who don’t know, we’re now entering my favorite half of the year, so I like to think of it as a step forward :) Even though Oregon is famous for its gray and rainy days, there is absolutely nothing like the Willamette Valley in the fall.  The leaves begin to turn, the air gets crisp. Mornings begin cold and misty before blooming into warm days and glorious sunshine, finally fading into brisk nights and air filled with the scent of woodsmoke.

In the Valley, we’re surrounded by mountains, rivers, and rolling hills of countryside – the landscape dotted with family farms and vineyards.  There is always a fun new Fall activity waiting for you around the corner.

Gary Halvorson, Oregon State Archives [Attribution], via Wikimedia Commons

If you think I’m romanticizing things, here’s the text I woke up to this morning:

“Happy first day of autumn!  It’s official, and I’m so ready for it.  I’m looking forward to the cold, and the colors, and the wet, and the smells, and the holidays, and the food, and basically everything that comes with the better half of the year.”

I couldn’t have said it better myself.  I love Autumn!!

Things I’m looking forward to this Fall:

– Chili and Cornbread

Football

– Thermals

– Hoodies

– Fuzzy boots (deal with it)

– TV show premieres

– Egg Nog

– The pumpkin patch

– Crunching leaves

– Rain!!

– Foggy mornings and warm afternoons

– Puffy vests

– Warm socks

– Rain boots

– Cozy nights watching movies (my must see movies every fall: Stepmom, What Lies Beneath, E.T., and pretty much anything classic or scary).

– Fires in the fireplace

– Pumpkin Pie

Pumpkin Spice Lattes!

– Making soups and stews

– Apple Cider (both sparkling and hot)

– Being super warm under covers when it’s freezing outside

I’m sure there’s a million more things I could add to this list, but I think you get the picture ;)

What’s your favorite Fall tradition?  Do you have a favorite Fall movie?  What’s the Fall recipe you’re most looking forward to making in the kitchen?

Photo Credit: Mike_Wagner71

21 thoughts on “Fall Forward!

  1. Although I am mourning the end of summer, the things I enjoy in cooler and cold weather are: homemade soup, stew, baked goods, hot chocolate with booze (optional) and/or marshmellows, bon fires, sweaters…

    • It always delights me to be reminded that our fall is spring somewhere else, for some reason! Blogging makes everyone feel so close :)
      Thank you for your comment, I’m glad you enjoyed it.

  2. I can’t wait for fall to get here, it’s one of my favourite seasons. I love warm clothes, and I love bundling up in my puffy plush robe. I also like it for the soups. You just can’t drink soup during summer unless the room is cold… and the same goes for coffee and Hot Chocolate and any other hot drink. And “Being super warm under covers when it’s freezing outside” is just the best thing ever!

    I don’t think I’ve ever had a fall movie though. I just watch whatever I come across!

    • I totally agree! I just can’t do soup in the summer, but as soon as fall hits I’m like, “ooh, I just really want to make a stew.” Everything about fall is just fantastic!

      That makes sense, I’ve noticed they play a lot more movies on tv during the fall too, especially on weekends, so I do a good bit of watching whatever I come across as well. But for some reason I just have a few movies that feel like fall to me! :)

Leave a Reply

