Addictive Blog Award!

A while ago, Its a Pussy Cats Life nominated me for the Addictive Blog Award!  Things have been a little hectic around here lately, so it took me longer than usual to post my response, but that doesn’t mean I don’t appreciate it greatly!!

Thank you so much Its A Pussy Cats Life!  If you haven’t checked out this fantastic blog about some adorable cats, you should definitely do so now!  Well…after you finish reading this of course ;)

I’d also like to take a moment to thank Ariesgrl Book Reviews for nominating me for the One Lovely Blog Award, and JustOneMonkeyTyping for nominating me for The Liebster Blog Award – as I’ve already accepted both of these, I won’t be doing separate acceptance posts, but thank you both so much for the honor!

Here are the Award Rules:
– Thank the person awarding you. (Check)
– Share a little about why you blog and how the journey started. (Read On!)
– Paste the blog award on your page. (Check)
– Nominate 10 other bloggers you feel deserve the award. (Read On!)

Why I blog:
I started this blog as a way to get my name out there as an author.  Because I’m self-published, the promotional aspects of publishing my work is all up to me!  Initially, I really only planned on writing a few “essay” like posts, (such as Regretful Thinking and Animal Instincts) as a supplement to the writing I do for my books.  However, after meeting the amazing community of bloggers, my page really took a different turn.  Even though I still write the occasional “essay” post, I’ve begun to put a lot more of me into my writing. Whether it be a quick quote, a small post about a food or television show I’m enjoying at the moment, or just the act of working my own “voice” into things a little more, I still feel the act of writing posts almost-daily has really helped me hone my writing skills, and has introduced me to an amazing world of writers and new perspectives.

The Blogs I’m Addicted To:
Words/Love

Megan Sayer

Notes from The Backseat

Freedom to Change

Belle Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast

The Wish Factor

Wanton Creation

Talk to Diana

The Monster In Your Closet

Dear Ms. Migraine

Thanks again Its A Pussy Cats Life!  And happy blogging, everyone!

25 thoughts on “Addictive Blog Award!

  1. Oh my gosh, I’m honoured and humbled. Thank you so much. Unfortunately I suck at awards and in my attempt to rid myself of the guilt of not complying with the rules I started My Friday Pick where once a week I feature a post I enjoyed. It’s always someone different and I’ve actually grown to enjoy doing it very much. I hope you understand and please know I am grateful and am so enjoying your blog as well. xo

    • I totally understand! It can definitely feel slightly overwhelming! But it is such an honor to be nominated, and know that you’ve written something your peers enjoy, so I love the concept.
      And of course, I will never be offended if you choose not to “re-post,” – but thank you for your appreciative and kind words!! Hugs to you :)

    • I know, the phrasing really confused me at first! I had to google/ask around a little before I understood the process as well. But yes, even though it says you’ve been “nominated” it does mean you’ve actually won :)

      And I don’t know if there’s an official way to go about posting the award to your blog…I just usually right click/save the image to my computer and then upload it to a post like I would a regular picture. I hope that helps!!

      But don’t worry, I won’t be offended if you decide it’s too much effort – I just enjoy highlighting some of my favorite blogs! :)

      • I usually don’t broadcast to all the blogs I link, some don’t accept awards, but I still like to share them with others. Is there like, a widget or something, that allows you to post them on the sidebar of the screen? I see some blogs like that, but can’t figure it out.

      • I think it depends on the theme you have, but if you go to the “Appearance” tab in your dashboard, there should be a little drop down option that says “Widgets.”
        Once you get there, you should have the option to select the “Image” widget and drag it to your primary sidebar.

        To post the award, just right click on the award image that you uploaded to your blog, and select “copy image URL”. Then, go to the “Image” widget in your dashboard and right click to paste the image URL into the box :)

        I hope that does the trick!

      • Oh I know, me too. My little brother was always the one in the family we’d all turn to when something went wrong with our computers…but now he’s in a different state! Lol I’ve been a lot more careful about what I mess with these days.

      • He did tech support for a point of sale company for a few years when we first got married. He’s the go-to guy now lol Me? I broke my laptop and bought a new one lol Let Geek Squad figure it out.

      • In fairness, he said “Happy Anniversary, buy yourself a new laptop” lol Turned out to be the hard drive so it’s being replaced for free under the warranty since the laptop is only 18 months old.

      • Haha! That sounds exactly like what a guy WOULD say. But getting the work done for free is always nice, everything I own loves to break RIGHT after the warranty expires…

      • That’s why my husband always buys the additional protection plan. This laptop was barely a year old, I still had six months on the protection left. We’re gonna fix it up and let Sissy use it when we start homeschool next fall. :) She’s excited to learn with me instead of a regular teacher. I can help her in so many ways the school can’t (and at this point, wont).

      • That’s smart!! For some reason my step-dad is always against the extra warranty, but I always break things so it’s a must when I’m spending a lot of money on something lol.

        I was actually homeschooled for part of a year when we moved unexpectedly mid school-year, and I actually really enjoyed it. I hope you guys have a lot of fun learning together :)

      • Thanks, I think we will. She wants to learn and having to move at the pace of other students is actually bringing her down. We were studying multiplication over the summer (at her request), but had to put it on hold when school started because they are teaching two digit addition and I didn’t want to confuse her. We have been homeschooling during the summer and on breaks for years now. It keeps her focused and every morning she wakes up and gets out a math workbook… She’s the only kid I know who would do that, and I love it!

  2. Pingback: Addictive Blog Award « Notes From The Backseat

    • :) Don’t worry about it – I hope you had a good leave!! (I’m behind on comments for no reason other than I’m lazy…at least you have a better excuse than I do! Haha)
      Andrea

  3. Pingback: The Addictive Blog Award | Wanton Creation

  4. So I’m terrible and only JUST put up my post for this now. When I came back from England it entirely escaped my mind for ages! Ooops :P Thank you so much for this again, I do appreciate it even in all my forgetfulness! :)

Leave a Reply

