Summer Dinner

Although I really enjoy cooking, I don’t do it very often.  It’s hard to be creative cooking for one – not to mention no matter how hard I try to cook a normal portion of food, I always end up with enough to feed 10 people.  Not being a huge fan of eating the same leftovers for a month, that tends to result in a lot of waste that I just don’t feel good about.

The other night, however, I made one of my favorite summery meals:  Lemon Pepper Chicken, Broccoli, and Corn on the Cob!  There was going to be some rice too, but I overcooked it…I burnt instant rice in the microwave…who does that??  (Rice is my biggest cooking challenge thanks to “uber stove” but that’s a story for a different post.)

It looks kind of odd colored and slightly unappetizing in this picture, because the lighting in my dining area/kitchen SUCKS, and the walls are painted a limey/apple green –  the combo of which tends to leave a weird cast over any picture taken in the room – but I promise it was delicious!

What are some of your favorite summer meals?  Do you have any awesome recipes for one you’d care to share?

10 thoughts on “Summer Dinner

  1. It looks good, even with bad lighting. If you want to take better pictures in that light, look for the white balance setting on your camera. You may want to set it to “toungsten.” Not sure of the spelling.

    • :) That’s another one of my favorite parts of summer. On Sunday a few friends and I had a picnic, cold cuts, salads, and all sorts of grazing treats. The leftovers have been great!!

  2. I also love to cook but rarely do anymore. I also love to host dinner, bbq’s etc. Something I like to bring to a BYO BBQ (this is common in the under or over 30 but still payin off student loans crowd), instead of just some plain chicken breasts or hotdogs I like to put a lil WOW in it. That way, even though I don’t get to show off my culinary/hostessing skills people get a taste of it.

    What I do is marinate a flank steak in a korean style marinade. A 3-5lb flank steak feeds a ton of people and costs less than $10. I use ginger, soy sauce, fish sauce, garlic, cilantro, brown sugar, sambal or any hot sauce or chile, something to give it a kick, then it goes on the grill with some green onions – you’re a hit! simple, cheap and YUM!

    Thanks for sharing and inspiring and awakening the Martha Stewart in me!

    • That sounds delicious!! I’m definitely going to have to try it out before summer is over :)

      And I’m glad I could help. I love cooking/crafting, it’s always more fun to share the inspiration with people!

Leave a Reply

