What I’m Watching

“Midsomer Murders”

I discovered this show on Netflix a while ago, and because I’ve seen nearly every episode of “Matlock” and “Murder, She Wrote” I decided to give it a try!

It turned out to be a good choice.  Set in an archetypal small town in England, Midsomer Murders follows DCI Tom Barnaby and Sergeant Gavin Troy as they do what they do best – solve crimes.  Since the series started in 1997 it feels a lot more like a traditional mystery in that there is much less focus on forensics and a lot more emphasis on Barnaby’s ability to outwit the criminals.  As someone who grew up on “cozy” detective stories such as “Columbo” and “Diagnosis Murder”, it was nice to find a series with a similar feel.

The show is currently in it’s 15th season, and according to iTV it will be returning for a 8-episode season with an all new cast, so I’ll be interested to see what I think of it when I finally catch up to the current episodes.

In the States, you can occasionally catch it on PBS, or find it streaming on Amazon Instant Video.  It WAS available on Netflix but at the moment you can only watch the last 3 seasons, unfortunately.  Even still, if you’re a fan of cozy mysteries I would definitely recommend finding a way to track some episodes down and give it a try!

What are some of your favorite mystery series?  Any other fans of “Midsomer Murders” out there?

7 thoughts on “What I’m Watching

    • The setting is always SO beautiful! And yes, I love the glimpses of English life. Even though they are small plot lines, I enjoy the bits involving his daughter Cully and the transitions she makes as she grows throughout the show :)

    • Stephen King is great! He kept me company one long day when I was studying for finals and The Stand was on television :) He always throws in twists that you just wouldn’t expect from anyone else.

    • Stephen King is great! He kept me company one long day when I was studying for finals and The Stand was on television :) And he always throws in twists that you just wouldn’t expect from anyone else.

Leave a Reply

