With Rice Instead of Noodles

Harry Burns: “On the side is a very big thing for you.”

Sally Albright: “Well, I just want it the way I want it”

– When Harry Met Sally

20120728-110052.jpg

I’m a bit like Sally when it comes to ordering food.  I wouldn’t necessarily call it “picky” or “high maintenance”…I just want it the way I want it!

This is one of my favorite dishes from a little greasy spoon diner called “Brails,” (known around town as “the best hangover breakfast” spot for years now). It’s owned by the nicest little Asian woman in the universe named Joy, who knows the name of just about every single customer who comes through the door.

In addition to burgers and fries and the like, the owner and her family also have some traditional items on the menu – such as the “Beef Noodle Bowl” above.

Only…it’s much better with rice!  So now instead of remembering my name, she remembers my “special order.”  Oh well, I guess there’s a lot worse things to be remembered for, right? To quote some more Harry Burns: “not only does she always pick the best thing on the menu, but she orders it in a way that even the chef didn’t know how good it could be!”

2 thoughts on “With Rice Instead of Noodles

Leave a Reply

