Karma’s a Bee!

A few weeks ago, I was about to get into the hot tub, when I noticed a little bee flailing around in the water. Being the kind-hearted person I am, I scooped him out and set him on the pavement. He sat there breathing so heavily I could see it even from a few feet away, and then flew off. Yay! Good deed done! I patted myself on the back, and even told my friend that bees and I were on good terms now, because obviously he was going to fly off to his little bee hive and tell all of his little bee friends how awesome I was for saving his life.

WRONG.

Yesterday, while I was lying in the grass minding my own business, listening to music, eyes closed, enjoying the sunshine, a bee flew right up to me and stung me on the leg! For no reason! I wasn’t in clover, I wasn’t near flowers, I wasn’t even IN the grass, I was on a beach towel. Nothing about my posture was threatening, or screamed “Hey try me – I’m food!” He even got me a second time, when I reached back to grab my leg in pain and I got a fingerful of stinger instead!

Son of a Bee! I forgot how bad stings hurt. Especially ones that are in that little soft spot on the back of your leg, right next to the back of your knee!

Here he is, just chillin on my towel after the fact. Actually, you know what, I felt a little sorry for the guy, since bumblebees die once they lose their stinger and all…Was it worth it, little kamikaze bee?

Life Lesson #321: Clearly bees don’t play by the rules of Karma.

6 thoughts on “Karma’s a Bee!

  1. I am shocked it would sting you for no reason. Perhaps your presence was threatening in a way you don’t realize. Anyway, I hope you are not in too much pain.

    • I was surprised too! I’m wondering if my sunscreen smelled good or something? It was very random…luckily I got inside and put some aspirin/water paste on it and it stopped hurting pretty quickly, only a bit of a twinge today :) Thank you!

  2. I’m allergic to bee stings, so karma would be a killing thing for me, hence I do unto others and all that so no bad karma heads my way. Glad you aren’t allergic.

Leave a Reply

