“What if This is As Good As It Gets?”

As Good As It Gets has to be one of my favorite movies of all time.

I mean, seriously, what girl doesn’t want to hear someone say to her,           “You make me want to be a better man.”???

The truth is, as the saying goes, “We are all a little weird.  And life’s a little weird.  And when we find someone whose weirdness is compatible with ours, we join up with them and fall into mutual weirdness and call it love.”

…Meaning, everyone’s got their shit.  Nobody is perfect.  We’re all broken and a little confused inside.  And sometimes, even the most confident and amazing people in the world don’t feel good enough.

But the good news is that we’re not entirely defined by our flaws.  And as ridiculous as it sounds, there really is someone out there who will see past all of your stuff, who will love you anyways…love you because.  Maybe they won’t think you’re perfect, but let’s face it, you’re not.  And neither are they. Luckily, perfection’s not the point.  It’s about finding someone who looks at you, flaws and everything, and says, “This is as good as it gets.”

16 thoughts on ““What if This is As Good As It Gets?”

  1. Reblogged this on A Grateful Man and commented:
    Andrea is new to my blog nad the first thing I do is steal, err, re-blog the first of her posts that I see. Thank you Andrea! As I commented on her post, I realized I wanted to share what I wrote to her with all of you, so here it is:
    Thank you for the fun post. I love that movie too. If we’re really lucky, we’re able to find someone to whom we can truthfully say, “You make me want to be a better man/woman” or even “You make my days better just by being in them.”
    And if we’re really smart and stay really lucky we’ll find ways to be able to truthfully keep saying them throughout our lives.
    I’ve got the lucky part down! Well, 1 out of 2 ain’t bad, right?
    My wife is a teacher of special ed Kindergartners and First Graders and loves them. That’s a good thing for me because I’m sure that she’s thought on many occasions that when she comes home to me she is coming home to yet another special ed kid.
    She has patiently stayed with this slow-learner (my words, not hers) for nearly 33 years. I can still truthfully say to her: “You make me want to be a better man” and even “You make my days better just by being in them.”
    As I said, I’m a lucky man.
    Russ

  2. Thank you for the fun post. I love that movie too. If we’re really lucky, we’re able to find someone to whom we can truthfully say, “You make me want to be a better man/woman” or even “You make my days better just by being in them.”

    And if we’re really smart and stay really lucky we’ll find ways to be able to truthfully keep saying them throughout our lives.

    I’ve got the lucky part down! Well, 1 out of 2 ain’t bad, right?

    My wife is a teacher of special ed Kindergartners and First Graders and loves them. That’s a good thing for me because I’m sure that she’s thought on many occassions that when she comes home to me she is coming home to yet another special ed kid.

    She has patiently stayed with this slow-learner (my words, not hers) for nearly 33 years. I can still truthfully say to her: “You make me want to be a better man” and even “You make my days better just by being in them.”

    As I said, I’m a lucky man.

    Russ

    • Thank you so much for your thoughtful comment!

      You really are lucky – and from the sounds of it, so is your wife! It’s wonderful to see examples of people who can truly cherish each other, even as they grow and learn over the years. I hope to be lucky enough to be able to say something similar in the future :)

  3. One of my very favorite movies. I like it because it’s about real people, with a lot of those flaws you talked about. Nobody travels through time or comes back from the dead or reads minds or levitates. My favorite part is near the end, when Carol is screaming, “Why can’t I just have a normal boyfriend?” and Melvin whispers, “Boyfriend!”

    Perfection would be pretty boring, wouldn’t it?

    • Perfection would be extremely boring! It’s strange how we can admire our favorite characters even for their flaws, and yet still be so hard on ourselves and the people around us, at times.

      And yes, that is a GREAT scene!! :)

      Thank you for taking the time to comment!

  4. One of my favourite movies too! Do you remember when she says, “Why can’t I have a normal boyfriend just for once?” and the Mum says “No such thing exists”. So true. Who wants to be normal anyway – very boring!

    • Haha yes! That is one of my favorite scenes as well. I’m pretty sure I’ve had that exact conversation in the past even :P But it’s so true, normal is overrated!

  5. Also one of my favorites. My husband and I have a one-liner joke we use sometimes that came from the movie, sort of. We say, “Hey, let’s go down to the lake and eat some noodle salad.” It makes us feel very, very lucky. My husband, Buck, also likes to say: “Our left-overs are better than most people’s first-overs.” I call this one of the sayings of Chairman Buck. (Much more entertaining than Chairman Mao, at least to my way of thinking.)

    • I haven’t had a chance to see “Hope Springs” yet! It looked good from the previews, but I’m even more interested now after reading your review. Thank you for stopping by! :)

Leave a Reply

