Sunday Songbird – Christmas is Coming

 

It’s that time of year again!  Time for Christmas music…Time to pull out the CDs, or MP3s, or even your old records – however you want to listen to it is fine, just listen to it! – and get in the holiday spirit.  Personally, I could probably listen to Christmas music all year round, I just love it that much.  Especially Willie Nelson’s album Pretty Paper – as I mentioned last year, I played that tape every night before going to sleep for an entire year, when I was barely old enough to work a tape deck.  But today I’m going to share with you a couple of different favorites.

Sunday Songbird WinterImage Source

In my humble opinion, Josh Groban could sing backwards underwater and still sound amazing.  Not only that, but his voice was made for singing Christmas songs – which is why it doesn’t make any sense at all that I don’t have any of his music in my Christmas library.  Good thing there’s youtube!

Growing up, I wasn’t particularly fond of either of these songs, but once I learned to sing them in our school choir in middle school I began to see why they’re considered classics (I honestly have no idea how we got away with learning Christmas songs in a public school, but I’m glad we did!  It was my favorite time of the year!).  Today, they both make me tear up a bit whenever I hear them.

“The first Noel the angels did say,
Was to certain poor shepards in fields as they lay,
In fields where they lay,
Keeping their sheep,
On a cold winter’s night that was so deep,
Noel…Noel…Noel…Noel,
Born is the King of Israel…”

The First Noel – Josh Groban


 

“A thrill of hope, the weary world rejoices,
For yonder breaks a new and glorious morn’,
Fall on your knees,
O hear the angels’ voices,
O night divine, O night when Christ was born…”

O Holy Night – Josh Groban

What are some of your favorite Christmas songs?  Do you like any now that you didn’t used to when you were younger?

 
 
 

RELATED ARTICLES

A Personal Note on Political Correctness and The Holidays

A Personal Note on Political Correctness and The Holidays

Sunday Songbird:  A White Christmas

Sunday Songbird: A White Christmas

Sunday Songbird:  Pretty Paper

Sunday Songbird: Pretty Paper

2 thoughts on “Sunday Songbird – Christmas is Coming

Leave a Reply

